Basboosa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good forgiving recipe. As a previous review suggested, I added less sugar, some honey and lemon instead of rose water, added ground almond, fit it all in a different size of a pan (adjusting the baking time, too), and it turned out beautifully. We love mid-eastern desserts, but this is the first time I made this one, and it was a hit with an international crowd of friends. Will definitely do again. Thank you for sharing, Lubna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is very delicious and unique recipe that you must try. I used sliced almonds instead of almond halves and cut down the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups in the syrup. Since I baked this in a glass pan I turned down the oven tempature to 325 degrees. I did not find that there was too much of the syrup or that it was drowning in it, like some other reviewers found. We all just loved the flavor of the rosewater and we think this would also be great using orange flower water instead of rose water. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I replaced the flour with 'cream of wheat' and the yogurt with sour cream and milk. It turned out really good besides the fact that it was too wet, next time I will use less of the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Good, but not the same as the real one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moroccan Habeba

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is the first time I try making besboosa, we normally buy it. Everyone pronounced it better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was pretty good, very sweet and easy to make. I would take the recommendation to decrease the syrup. I felt like it was floating in the syrup because not all of it got soaked up. Mine got cooked pretty fast on the edges even after I lowered the temperature in the oven. Next time, I'll try to cook it at 325 or so and I'll add the extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe did not come out right at all. I followed everything EXCEPT, I set it aside for an hour instead of 30 minutes. I don't think that alone would have caused such a terrible outcome. First of all 20 minutes + 3 minutes of broiling was far from enough time to cook this basboosa thoroughly. The top was browned very nicely so I added the syrup. When I cut out a square, I realized the inside was raw and uncooked as ever. So I returned it to the oven for 22 more minutes (total 45 minutes)....still brown on the outside but raw on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I really like this dessert. I followed the suggestion of TUNISIANSWIFE and used equal parts of sugar and water to make the syrup. I'm not a big fan of rosewater, so I used lemon juice. The other basboosa recipe on allrecipes uses lemon juice. I used Cream of Wheat because I couldn't find semolina flour, and it worked. I broiled the cake for two minutes, and it was overdone. Next time, I'll reduce the time to one minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was delicious! I used only a fraction of the syrup called for however - saved the rest as most of the first batch got eaten today by friends and coworkers! I also had only 3/4 cup of yogurt but went ahead anyway. I upped the coconut slightly and ended up having to cook it an additional 6 minutes, and then under the broiler for about 45 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
this is wonderful and so simple. I made this as a Ramadan dessert treat for my DH and his friends. I upped the coconut by 1 tbsp. Decreased the sugar in the syrup by 1/4 cup and just boiled it a bit longer to get the right consistency for simple syrup. I had homemade rosewater my sister in law made and it is a bit stronger than store-bought. I still upped the rosewater by about 1tbsp. I just taste-tested the syrup after it was finished and adjusted accordingly. The flavor was not overpowering and was just perfect. Orange blossom water can also be substituted. **You may see semolina flour packaged as "cream of wheat" in a Middle Eastern or Indian grocery; it is the same as semolina flour, just a different name. Even though mine got a little too brown on top, it did not affect the flavor. Next time I'll only do 1 minute under the broiler. As it cools, it will absorb the simple syrup. These are also just as good served cold. Thanks so much for this wonderful simple recipe that will become a staple for my husband's sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States