Basboosa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I love Basbousa! I tried this recipe and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gasparini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I used unsweetened coconut and 3/4c yogurt with 1/4c cream. I halved the sugar for the water/sugar combo and added 3 tablespoons of cream. My Egyptian husband doesn't like his desserts too sweet and he said this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious recipe! Just like my mom's (only hers doesn't have exact ingredients). My changes: I used the #2 semolina flour, doubled the simple syrup recipe, and used 2 tbsp. of orange blossom water in the syrup. Made it for a family gathering and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm sorry it didn't work for me . I'm from the middle east and Basboosa is one of my favorite desserts but some thing was wrong with the recipe , I don't think only how fine is the Semolina coz my mom makes it with the fine one but I might did something wrong the Basboosa came. Tough and didn't absorb the syrup . The one thing i'm sure of is the pan size that made it so thick for Basboosa if the recipe worked for me I would use at least a 9 inch pan coz the thicker the Basboosa the longer time it will take in the oven which makes it more dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I´ve never baked before anything with semolina. So it´s the first try. I followed the recipe almost exactly. As I didn´t have any yogurt, I had to substitute the mix of sour cream and milk for yogurt. For me it tasted the same. I didn´t like this sourish syrup and next time I wouldn´t add any lemon juice at all. Instead I would add 2 tbsp of honey (surprisingly but for me it was not very sweet). But actually I still don´t get if I like semolina pastry. Need to try something else with it. Don´t use a springform pan. In my case the syrup leaked greatly and made a mess of all my oven. Oough! Now need to clean it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
it tastes great but came out very dry although i followed the recipe carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
tasty, from Egypt, Palestine, India and the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was the third recipe I tried of basbousa and thankfully it turned out just the way I wanted. The coconut flavor stood out, like someone else has mentioned too, which was a big plus point, and it wasn;t too cakey- just the right amount of baking powder. If this hadn;t turned out good, I was going to give up on basbousas but I'm definitely going to make this again. oh but I did find it too sweet for my taste even though I used half the amount of sugar in the syrup than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
5 star, but slight changes... make sure to use the #2 semolina flour. Next only use 3/4 cup sugar in batter. In the syrup, I used rose flavoring. Plus I only used 3/4cup water and 1/2 cup sugar to make syrup. I decorated it with sliced almonds which I already had on hand.And after pouring the syrup on, I broiled it in the oven for around 5 minute. When cooking in oven pay attention. Cooks faster than you think. Lowered my oven temp to 335-340. Everyone loved it and I never made it before, so good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
this is a great recipe... just the way my family does it in Egypt. However, i would suggest to increase the syrup recipe a bit and just use 1 tsp of lemon juice to avoid the bitter/sour taste. A definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States