Barquillos (Wafer Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I had a problem with the batter, I couldn't spread it thin enough, so it was like a thin cake. Tasty, I'll have to give this another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I bake a lot and these were an epic FAIL. Not sure if you were supposed to "fluff" the batter (which I didn't because the instructions didn't indicate to do that). I'm not sure how anyone is able to "spread thinly" - the dough was just slightly softer than cookie dough, and for as thin as you needed to make them (probably 1/16") it needed to be much thinner, more like pancake batter. Very disappointed in this recipe because I so many ideas for what to do with them! I hope there's another one I can use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
MY GOODNESS I just made these cookies.And they are all gone less then 15 minutes my kids breath them in.So good I making them again tomorrow.Thank You so much for this recipe.Its most def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staycie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out AMAZING! The hardest part for me though was rolling them before they turned crisp. I ended up taking them out as soon as the edges turned color. I also used pandan extract instead of vanilla. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mike g
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
this is such a good recipe, i didnt have any all purpose flour so i used 3/4cup cake flour and baked it at 350. one of the bet i have ever had "GREAT JOB"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I was looking for ice cream cone recipe, but I stumbled into this. This reminds me of my childhood, my mother used to buy barquillo after coming out from the church. This barquillo taste better than the one I buy from the store, it is light and melts in your mouth. I even stuffed it with whipped cream. Since it is delicate, I only put 6 in the tray, so that I do not have to rush rolling it. After baking I place it on a cloth napkin where I will roll it and used the napkin to help me to roll. I put it on the kitchen towel with the overlapped edge down, just in case it unrolls. I baked it on silpat liner. The only problem I have was spreading it on the tray with my offset spatula. I will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheftini
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Delicious and delicate! I had to work quickly but was definitely worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a technically difficult cookie to make. You need sides on your cookie sheet to contain spillovers. The dough liquified into a huge pancake the first time, and cooked unevenly the second. It is hard to get the softer parts to roll up like the browned edges do so well. I liked the flavor but need help with the execution of the wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I just made these and they came out very good! I think I didn't make them thin enough when I spread the batter out, but they still tasted delicious, definitely going to be trying them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States