Barm Brack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Reviewer Helen said this recipe made her homesick - I tend to agree!. Have always loved this bread (and there are many variations). Great thinly sliced with butter or cream cheese. I notice that a lot of reviewers complain that baking times are not correct - I never totally trust baking times as given because oven differ. Saves a lot of heartache and disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Hard to find citron, was able to double up on the raisins. Was quickly devoured and everyone loved it. I will make this again as soon as I find some citron to try it with. Will add to my regular routine in making delicious breads!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket878

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I really enjoy this in the mornings. Instead of the citron though, I use a mix of black and gold raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Yum yum yum yum yum yum! Made me feel really homesick, and went straight online and bought a couple of plane tickets to Ireland. That's the effect it had on me, so you can guess I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yum! I originally tried this on holiday in Wales this past "summer" and it was delicious. It was recommended to me to try it spread with butter, the way the Welsh have it, and I loved it. This recipe is the exact of what I had in that little cafe in Wales and tastes fantastic. A definite must on my table this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for our group gathering tonight and everyone loved it. It disappeared quickly. I realized when I went to make the recipe today that I had forgotten to soak the raisins overnight. I put some of the tea, the brown sugar and the raisins in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil and let it cook a few minutes and set it aside for a couple of hours. The raisins were pretty well plumped up and it worked fine. As for the runniness of the batter, I measured the flour, then sifted it, measured again and found I had a lot of flour left over if I were to go by the sifted measure and the batter did seem too runny, so I put the rest of the flour in. My guess is that you measure before sifting in this recipe. At least it worked well. Also, my eggs seemed small so I added one extra egg to the doubled recipe. I didn't have and couldn't find citron this time of year so I added about half the amount in orange and grapefruit zest and it gave a nice flavor. I cooked the zest in with the raisins and sugar so they got soaked for a while. I'll make it again and got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
WOW! This was great! I made it fist thing this morning because I'm planning a traditional Celtic Halloween menu this evening. I couldn't wait and had to have a little slice while it was still warm. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have to agree with some of the other reviews when I say that an hour and 45 minutes would have been way too long to cook this. I took mine out a little after an hour and the sides were already a bit too chewy. That said, otherwise this is a great recipe and one I will definitely make again! I didn't have any citron so instead I put in some dried currants and a little lemon extract and it still turned out fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Rather than raisins and citron, which my family dislike, I use currants, dried apricots and dried cranberries. It's also good paired with a strong cheese, such as extra old cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States