Barm Brack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I really enjoy this in the mornings. Instead of the citron though, I use a mix of black and gold raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Reviewer Helen said this recipe made her homesick - I tend to agree!. Have always loved this bread (and there are many variations). Great thinly sliced with butter or cream cheese. I notice that a lot of reviewers complain that baking times are not correct - I never totally trust baking times as given because oven differ. Saves a lot of heartache and disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
I added orange peel & dried fruit in place of the citron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Yum yum yum yum yum yum! Made me feel really homesick, and went straight online and bought a couple of plane tickets to Ireland. That's the effect it had on me, so you can guess I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for our group gathering tonight and everyone loved it. It disappeared quickly. I realized when I went to make the recipe today that I had forgotten to soak the raisins overnight. I put some of the tea, the brown sugar and the raisins in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil and let it cook a few minutes and set it aside for a couple of hours. The raisins were pretty well plumped up and it worked fine. As for the runniness of the batter, I measured the flour, then sifted it, measured again and found I had a lot of flour left over if I were to go by the sifted measure and the batter did seem too runny, so I put the rest of the flour in. My guess is that you measure before sifting in this recipe. At least it worked well. Also, my eggs seemed small so I added one extra egg to the doubled recipe. I didn't have and couldn't find citron this time of year so I added about half the amount in orange and grapefruit zest and it gave a nice flavor. I cooked the zest in with the raisins and sugar so they got soaked for a while. I'll make it again and got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yum! I originally tried this on holiday in Wales this past "summer" and it was delicious. It was recommended to me to try it spread with butter, the way the Welsh have it, and I loved it. This recipe is the exact of what I had in that little cafe in Wales and tastes fantastic. A definite must on my table this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is very good. I made it for dessert on St. Pat's Day, and everyone liked it very much. I'm giving it four stars instead of five because the baking time was so far off for me. I read another reviewer who made the same complaint, so I watched the oven very closely. The temp stayed exactly at 350, and my cake (baked in a loaf pan) was done in 45-50 minutes. This cake is quite sweet, even though I cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 C, lightly packed. (If you reduce the sugar as I did, be sure to cut down on the tea--maybe from 1 3/4 C to 1 1/2, so that the batter won't be runny and the fruit won't settle at the bottom.) By the way, I used regular (brown) Sunmaid raisins and substituted glace fruit for the citron. (I'm sure that citron would have been very good because lemon goes so well with tea, but I didn't have any.) Also, I didn't have self-rising flour, so I made my own. For this recipe, just add 1 7/8 T baking powder and 5/8 t salt to the flour before sifting. One last thing: I always wonder what a recipe is going to taste like; and since I'd never heard of barm brack, I was especially concerned about this one. I'd call it a kind of cross between zucchini bread and fruit cake--remember that I used glace fruit, not citron--with a slight tea flavor (though no one but me seemed to taste the tea), and it's moist and dense in texture. Anyway, this was really easy, tasty, and a little bit different from other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Tried this recipie twice & each time it has been a disaster 475ml of tea is too much & I do not believe that there is enough flour as this mix does not make a dough. The brack ends up burnt on the outside & raw in the middle terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Not horrid, but.... Mine was done baking after an hour, and hour-forty-five would have definitely been too much. All of the fruit settled to the bottom, even though I mixed it all up and poured it and put it right in the oven. The batter was very runny, and I suspect not thick enough to support the fruit. The overall taste was fine. I used Constant Comment tea from Bigelow. It is an orange spice tea. I think next time perhaps more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I am sorry, but I thought this recipe was horrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States