Barm Brack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Tried this recipie twice & each time it has been a disaster 475ml of tea is too much & I do not believe that there is enough flour as this mix does not make a dough. The brack ends up burnt on the outside & raw in the middle terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yum! I originally tried this on holiday in Wales this past "summer" and it was delicious. It was recommended to me to try it spread with butter, the way the Welsh have it, and I loved it. This recipe is the exact of what I had in that little cafe in Wales and tastes fantastic. A definite must on my table this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Reviewer Helen said this recipe made her homesick - I tend to agree!. Have always loved this bread (and there are many variations). Great thinly sliced with butter or cream cheese. I notice that a lot of reviewers complain that baking times are not correct - I never totally trust baking times as given because oven differ. Saves a lot of heartache and disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Yum yum yum yum yum yum! Made me feel really homesick, and went straight online and bought a couple of plane tickets to Ireland. That's the effect it had on me, so you can guess I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Not horrid, but.... Mine was done baking after an hour, and hour-forty-five would have definitely been too much. All of the fruit settled to the bottom, even though I mixed it all up and poured it and put it right in the oven. The batter was very runny, and I suspect not thick enough to support the fruit. The overall taste was fine. I used Constant Comment tea from Bigelow. It is an orange spice tea. I think next time perhaps more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I am sorry, but I thought this recipe was horrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
very nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I really enjoy this in the mornings. Instead of the citron though, I use a mix of black and gold raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
I added orange peel & dried fruit in place of the citron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States