Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Although good, I had to make some modifications to the dish (thank goodness I read the reviews first!). First, I used only half of the cayenne pepper called for and 1/4 tsp of salt (thought that was still almost too much considering other additions that I made). I added 1.5 tsp of Old Bay, 1 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp of creole seasoning, 1 dash of seasoned salt, 1/2 tsp of Blackened Seasoning, and 2 tsp onion powder. I used olive oil to coat the fillets instead of butter and used just enough italian dressing to lightly coat the fillets (maybe a teaspoon for each fillet, it helps to keep the fish from drying out.) Make sure that you open the windows during the blackening process, as stated in earlier reviews! Even the dog left me in the kitchen when the smoke got thick! I served it on top of some old-fashioned dirty rice, and my boyfriend really enjoyed it. He had the rest for lunch and it was even hotter the next day! He claimed that he had to sit on a wet towel to cool off! Overall, the recipe is a great starting point for blackened catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerissa Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe, but fairly spicy, and I even decreased the amount of cayenne pepper by 1/2 teaspoon. If you can't handle really spicy food, I'd suggest using about 3/4 teaspoon total cayenne pepper. After reading reviews, I also only used a dash of salt and black pepper instead of the full amount called for, and seared the fillets in olive oil instead of butter. NOTE: Make sure that when you do the blackening part, you do it in a well ventilated area. There is a lot of smoke and strong vapors from the pepper, so be careful. I served this with corn on the cob, hush puppies, and honey roasted red potatoes (recipe found on this site). Absolutely delicious, will definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
My husband does not like fish, but he cleans his plate every time I make this! I have tried this with several other kinds of fish (cod, tilapia), but the catfish tastes the best. I follow the recipe exactly, except I never have lemon pepper, so I squeeze fresh lemon over the filets. I also brush the filets with dijon mustard after I coat them with salad dressing. It adds a delicious zing. Also, if you don't like things really spicy, you can cut the cayenne pepper in half and just use a little more garlic powder to make up for it. I usually serve this with a tossed salad and some Zatarin's jumbalaya rice with diced kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is my first try at blackened anything. I had a bad experience years ago when it first became popular but I had a taste of my niece's at a restaurant lately and have been wanting to have more ever since. I used Zatarins Blackened Seasoning and added the garlic powder. I also used the fresh lemon juice. I used a combo of olive oil and butter to sear the fillets and didn't use the salad dressing at all. It made a delicious sauce as it baked and it only needed 15 minutes to bake. They were almost done after the hot searing. I served it over plain rice with steamed carrots on the side. My husband who is picky about seafood loved it. Thanks a lot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHITIMACHA54
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wonderful! The only modification I would make is only to add only 1 tsp of salt. Also, I saw one reviewer below that made a comment of this being too salty, but she used garlic salt - make sure to use garlic "powder". We like it spicy, so the spice was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I read the reviews prior to using this recipe. On previous attempts I used the spice sold by that famous New Orleans chef for blackened fish but found it blah. I followed this recipe to the letter on Halibut (I couldn’t get catfish) and found it absolutely excellent. So simple but the combination of spices brought out the beautiful spicy flavor associated with blackened fish. Don’t change a thing. Use as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is one spicy dish, but we love spicy food, so that was fine. Well, at least I love it, and Jeanne puts up with it. First, I think for one pound of fish, you could cut the spices in half, one teaspoon of each should be plenty. I use two, and had a lot left over, and I really coated the fish. Second, as someone else mentioned, watch out for the fumes when frying. Open the windows, and turn on the exhust fan, you are going to need it. The secret to this recipe is of course the Italian dressing. It seems to take away some of the heat, but still leaves a nice bite and great flavor. I will be doing this one again, perhaps with a differant fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merchantville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Simple and could be tasty - but WAY TOO MUCH SALT! If I make again, I will eliminate the 2 teaspoons salt, since lemon pepper and the dressing is already salty. Also, 1 cup of Italian dressing is wasteful, I believe a simple drizzle over the fillets would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is very good but it is wowy spicy and we love spicy/hot but was almost too hot for us. When I make again I will not change the spice mixture but will instead only rub in about 1 tsp per fish fillet and that will prob be enough. Overall very good but you gotta love hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I figured this recipe could use a review that wasn't written almost 10 years ago, so here it goes. I made minimal modifications and it turned out amazing. First, I only used 1 tsp of salt and it was plenty. Also, if you don't like spicy that much, only use 1 tsp of cayenne. I love spicy stuff, and this recipe had my ears burning and my nose sniffling. USE THE ITALIAN DRESSING. I almost didn't, but I was glad I did. Like another user said, the dressing mellows out some of the saltiness. If you're worried your fish is going to be too salty after trying a bit after searing, chances are after using the dressing, it will be fine. Also, I only drizzled some over the fish. 1 cup is way too much. DO NOT BAKE FOR 30 MINUTES. I only baked for 15 and it came out perfect. It was juicy, tender, and flaky but not dried out. For a side, I fried some green beans in the same skillet that I used for the fish. I had a lemon that I needed to use so I squeezed some juice onto both the green beans and the fish and it added a nice, fresh zing. My boyfriend and I both loved it. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States