Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My husband said, "you're going to make this again, aren't you?" We both enjoyed it. The only change I made was using olive oil instead of butter. We like things hot, but I think 1 1/2 tsp of cayenne would be a little more palatable -it would still be hot. If you don't like your tongue to burn definitely cut it to 1 teaspoon. I would suggest serving this fish with something cooling. I served it with Oriental Sesame Slaw and fresh cut up fruit and it was a great combination. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very yummy. My children ask for it every week. I tweaked the recipe slightly. For one pound recipe, I halved the spices and dressing. It was just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It was smoky in the house but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I usually do not add salt, because my husband is not a big salt eater. I also cook this on my George Forman grill because I like it crispy on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
OK, being from the great white north where we don't eat catfish on purpose, I was skeptical that I'd even like this recipe. My southern born and bred boyfriend and I rarely agree on food and the normal "fried in cornmeal" southern channel cat recipes don't appeal to me at all, but wel all like cajun type stuff, so when my son brought 15 catfish filets home from his fishing trip last weekend, I gave this a go. It was AWESOME! Spicy and tender and flaky. Fifteen filets, two teenagers, one good ol southern country boy, one displaced yankee, zero leftovers. 'Nuff said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Really good and moist loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The blackened seasoning was good,but way too much on the italian dressing, could not get past the dressing flavor a bit much overtook the fish, this may be good on chicken breast , but wont try it on fish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
The variety of spices gives this catfish great taste; however, I do not recommend the strong spices for young children or sensitive stomaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magdalena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good. I added 1/4 tsp of rosemary and 1/2 tsp of thyme (both dried) to the blackened seasoning and let them sit in the fridge for 20 minutes. And a very very hot cast iron skillet is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I don't normally write reviews; but, I HAVE to say something about this one.. I did not like this one! I am a huge fish fan and fix it weekly. Way too spicy. Too many flavors going on with the cajun spices, butter, italian dressing.. etc. for my palate. So, for me, I have to just scratch this recipe altogether. However, if you want to try this recipe, you MUST understand a few key things. In the original instructions it says to rub the fish with the spices. I would suggest only rubbing one side or just sprinkling it on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States