Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Even good without the italian dressing or lemon pepper. Melted the butter then sprinkled the cayenne, black pepper and salt on. Probably not as much as the recipe calls for. Fried on high for about 1 minute on each side the baked for 25 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
way way WAY too salty...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Would have been a great recipe, but so salty we ended throwing it out. Will try again without salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. Make sure you turn on the oven fan and open a window. Tasted perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
cut everything in half like others suggested, and added paprika. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biomed30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Even though I had difficulty eating this dish (I cut the amount of cayenne pepper in half and everyone's mouths were still on fire), the catfish had such a wonderful flavor to it! I'll definately try making this dish again (maybe with a little less pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Like many others I have never left a review but my wife and kids loved it so much I had to leave one. Really easy dish to make, and Im not very good when it comes to cooking indoors. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My husband said, "you're going to make this again, aren't you?" We both enjoyed it. The only change I made was using olive oil instead of butter. We like things hot, but I think 1 1/2 tsp of cayenne would be a little more palatable -it would still be hot. If you don't like your tongue to burn definitely cut it to 1 teaspoon. I would suggest serving this fish with something cooling. I served it with Oriental Sesame Slaw and fresh cut up fruit and it was a great combination. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very yummy. My children ask for it every week. I tweaked the recipe slightly. For one pound recipe, I halved the spices and dressing. It was just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It was smoky in the house but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States