Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Too hot!!!! I give it 5 stars though because blackened Cajun fish is supposed to be hot. The fish was tender and I think people that like it very hot would enjoy this. I will have to try using maybe a quarter or less of the spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
TOO SALTY! This dish tasted good and was easy, but man was it salty. We actually already halved the salt and used 2 tsp for 2 lbs of catfish, and it still tasted extremely salty. I would either cut out salt next time since the other spices already give it plenty of flavor, or use 1/4 tsp per pound of catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
CAUTION-HEED VENTILATION WARNINGS!! Open windows and turn on vent hood before cooking to circulate air. The searing process releases strong pepper fumes that will overwhelm you if you are not careful. I crave super-spicy food but this recipe was too much heat for me. I love the blend of spices, just needed to tone it way down so I cut everything in half. Also added paprika, equal inmeasurement to the other spices. Seared in olive oil, without brushing with butter first, for healthier alternative. I strongly recommend using "Good Seasons" dry italian salad dressing packet following thir directions but using extra virgin olive oil for the veggie oil. This dressing is great on fish even without the blackening seasons. YUMMY!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Turned out fantastic! For 2 lbs of fish I took the other reviewers advice and cut down the spices to 1-1/2 t of each and it turned out restaurant quality!! Yum. Also took their advise on the smoke issue and used the outdoor grill to sear so that all the smoke stayed outside. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very good flavor! My kids can't eat spicy, so I used Old Bay seasoning, salt, pepper and garlic powder. All other directions are the same. The whole family really enjoyed this dish. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Thought it was great although I changed a lot. I didn't have the lemon pepper or cayenne pepper, so I just subbed cajun seasoning. Also, omitted the salt and it was still plenty salty. Lastly, I only used about 1/3 cup of the Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I figured this recipe could use a review that wasn't written almost 10 years ago, so here it goes. I made minimal modifications and it turned out amazing. First, I only used 1 tsp of salt and it was plenty. Also, if you don't like spicy that much, only use 1 tsp of cayenne. I love spicy stuff, and this recipe had my ears burning and my nose sniffling. USE THE ITALIAN DRESSING. I almost didn't, but I was glad I did. Like another user said, the dressing mellows out some of the saltiness. If you're worried your fish is going to be too salty after trying a bit after searing, chances are after using the dressing, it will be fine. Also, I only drizzled some over the fish. 1 cup is way too much. DO NOT BAKE FOR 30 MINUTES. I only baked for 15 and it came out perfect. It was juicy, tender, and flaky but not dried out. For a side, I fried some green beans in the same skillet that I used for the fish. I had a lemon that I needed to use so I squeezed some juice onto both the green beans and the fish and it added a nice, fresh zing. My boyfriend and I both loved it. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I cut back on the cayenne and salt and still had some spice mix leftover. Also used 1/2 cup of the dressing and no butter. Easy weeknight recipe with a kick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I usually read the reviews but was in a hurry. Wish I had! lol It was okay. Next time I'll use less salt, two teaspoons was definitely too much. Other than that, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRoyce Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Will like to try on other fish and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States