Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this spicy catfish. I did cut the salt to 1 teaspoon and that was enough. Lessons learned: Make sure the pan you fry in is good and hot before searing the fish. I think you could cut back on the italian dressing as much of it just sits in the baking dish. I'll be making this again. Thanks (UPDATE: I see people rating this recipe before they even try it (that's just weird!) because of the cooking time or spices - I've used this recipe for over a year and it is GREAT! The fish does not dry out. I did need to practice a few times to get the searing method correct. If you like blackened catfish - just try it - nice blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wow. A hit with the fam. Thanks for sharing! Works well with cajun seasoning too, if you don't have the other spices available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipe was super easy, and even my picky eating husband loved it! Will definitely be making this again. A few suggestions though, as previous posters have recommended: cut the amount of salt and cayenne pepper. I made it with 1 1/2 tsp cayenne and 2 tsp of salt, and while it was still good, the salt and heat were a little overwhelming. Next time I'll use only 1 tsp of salt and cayenne. Excellent flavors, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
also excellent with tilapia yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Made several times & had to reduce amount of spices. Not something I make often, but is easy. We've used catfish nuggets also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Barbeque version...I love catfish and i love spicy, and this recipe is extra spicy. No salt is needed, and my experience has been to never use as much lemon pepper as any recipe states. Cut back on the black pepper as well. Get grill on b'bque very hot before blackening, then wrap fillets in a foil packet with dressing on top and bottom. Grill/steam on low heat for approx 20 minutes. This fish is so moist and so spicy, and by using the outdoor grill you keep your smoke detectors from going off. This is a great addition to my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Delicious!! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. The spice is amazing, and although I was a little nervous about the raw smell of catfish the end result was amazing. Just be sure to have the stovetop fan on before pan frying the fish--it gets smokey very quickly and the spices almost get stuck in your lungs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe if you like spicy food. my husband couldn't get enough. i made it again and used less cayenne and i loved it and i normally don't even like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really like this recipe, have made it many times and it is really easy. I used less of the italian dressing, just enough to coat the fish while it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Even the picky kiddos loved this recipe. usually have to fix something for them afterwards if I fix something spicy, but they both loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States