Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Teegarden
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This was fantastic. Raving review my fiancee as well. Its subtle kick of flavor to a good fish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
OMG. This is the only way I make catfish. Who cares about frying when you can have this recipe!?! So flavorful and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Everything was great but way too salty. Next time I'm going without the salt. However, very flavorable and easy to prepare. Instead of butter, I used the olive oil from a spray can before the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I like this recipe. A little spicey but very good. Add lemon on it and it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Keating

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was nervous to try this recipe as I have never done anything blackened. It was wonderful, juicy, and flavorful. I followed the recipe with only the following little changes. I added onion powder to the seasoning and some EVOO to my cast iron skillet to blacken the fish. I did not use the whole cup on italian dressing, but enough to cover the fillets. I served it with baked potato, steamed spinach, and a salad. My husband, who was weary of catfish, said it was great. I think the spicy level was just right. Taste your rub before hand so you know if it needs more or less. And like others said, open the window and prepare for smoke. I may try it with coconut oil next time as it can get hotter without the smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious, but I did make some modifications. I had to make up 2 cayenne pepper mixtures because my cat fish were big. Sprinkle cayenne pepper, no salt, dash of pepper, use olive oil instead of butter, sprinkle both sides of fish (after rubbing olive oil on) with Creole Seasoning, drizzle Italian Dressing & squeezed fresh lemon juice on fish when done baking. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have never cooked any fish of any kind before. This was the most delicious and easiest recipe I have ever tried! Mouth watering! The local store here in Texas (Kroger) have Catfish fillets on sale this week and I went back and bought more! I will most certainly share this recipe with all my friends! Thank you Barlow who ever you are. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I LOVED this recipe and didn't change a thing. Very yummy with some rice and green tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My children loved it, as well as my boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States