Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I LOVED this recipe and didn't change a thing. Very yummy with some rice and green tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My children loved it, as well as my boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Omitted salt entirely and just drizzled with italian dressing (health/sodium reasons)... Delicious!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My fiance is from New Orleans so I'm constantly trying to find cajun recipes for him. His biggest complaint about most of the recipes I've tried (this 1 included) is that we all seem to assume "Cajun" means SPICY..which it does not, at least not HOT spicy..it's essentially "flavorful & blackened". I don't eat seafood & I can't tolerate anything more than mild spice so I've always stayed away from "Cajun" recipes but having been down there w/him a few times, he's right, there IS a HUGE difference (I can actually eat many REAL Cajun recipes). If it's spicy it spicy, not Cajun. I won't use this recipe again for the reasons outlined but I imagine from his description that anyone who DOES like hot-n-spiciness would probably LOVE it, that's just not us. Enjoy if you do try it..won't know if ya don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tweaked the recipe by adding onion powder and reducing the cayenne pepper to 1 tsp. but it turned out delicious - a real winner at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious, but the cayenne pepper may be too much. Cut back a bit, and it'd be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe is great! I gave it 4 stars because if made as is would be too salty and too spicy (unedible). Luckily I had read the reviews and made alterations before preparing. I did only a light sprinkle of salt on top of the fish (did not add it to the mixture) but next time I will leave it out all together. The salt in the lemon pepper seasoning is plenty. I used a tad more than half of the cayenne and it was perfect for us (we like spicy). I also only did just drizzle of italian dessing and it came out great. Another tip: Sear on a cast iron skillet so you can just put the whole thing in the oven afterwards. No extra dish to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Wow this recipe was fantastic!! I did i exactly as instructed (only cooked in the pan a little bit longer to blacken) and my husband was complimenting me all evening on how good it tasted! It is a bit too spicy for young children so I'd recommend setting some aside and only rubbing the seasoning on very very lightly for kids. But for anyone who enjoys a good spicy meal that makes you keep tissues near, this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really tasty! I omitted the salt and cayenne (my husband doesn't tolerate spicy) and added 1 teaspoon of paprika. Also, I drizzled the italian dressing (as per other reviewers). My 10 and 11 year olds thought it was "AMAZING"! I thought it was really moist and tasty and I'm so glad that I didn't add that salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Too hot!!!! I give it 5 stars though because blackened Cajun fish is supposed to be hot. The fish was tender and I think people that like it very hot would enjoy this. I will have to try using maybe a quarter or less of the spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States