Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
With a bit of shredded cheese sprinkled on top, this was a totally toothsome, full meal. I did add a bit of crusty bread. Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I enjoyed this even more than I thought I would! Was afraid it would be too "mushroom-y" but it's just fine. Delicious. Also tastes wonderful with the smallest amount of shredded fresh Parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This was much better than I thought it would be. The ingredients seem rather bland, but all together they are pretty tasty. I modified it a bit with more celery and onions. This one I surely recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is very tasty, vegetarian or not! Very healthy and has some taste to it! I added some seasoning and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This would be better as a side dish to a spicy meal, than a main dish on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was delicious - I prepared it as a side dish and made a few modifications. Here are the changes I made: I omitted the beans, used green pepper instead of celery, chicken broth instead of veg broth, and added in some cut-up brussel sprouts. I also added some extra spices - specifically powdered sage and ginger. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This is a really great recipe- the ultimate comfort food when it's cold outside. Next time I will sub some of the broth with white wine. I exchanged celery for water chestnuts b/c I don't care for celery and b/c I wanted the extra crunch factor. Be sure to watch the pot, tho. Mine was done in less than 45 min and almost got stuck to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was really easy to make and really good. I added a Goya Sazon packet which gave it a very pretty color and a little extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This dish was very easy to put together. I didn't have celery so I substituted carrots, which worked well. I added 1/2 cup more barley, as 3 cups broth is too much for just 1/2 cup barley. Next time I'm going to add sweet potatoes to this wonderful winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This was OK, but on the bland side. I did use natural barley, may have been better with pearl barley. I used this and corn as side dishes and ended up mixing them together for more flavor and the next day put it on top of rice with the corn mixed in and some soy sauce and that was pretty good, but I wouldn't make this again. Kids didn't like it, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States