Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Very nice recipe. I think if you add more broth, you could make a very nice soup out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Much more like a soup than a side dish or anything you could wrap a tortilla around--but delicious nonetheless. It pleased my picky flatmate, which is no easy feat. I did add about a cup of sliced red bell pepper to increase the health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Next time, I'll lessen the black pepper to 1 tsp or less (it was a little too spicy for me). Otherwise, this was an excellent recipe my entire family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Mine came out a little mushy and I would like to add more celery next time. I think it would have tasted better if I had NOT used low-sodium broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
A great tasting dish when some changes are made. Like others have suggested, it needs 1 cup barley not 1/2 cup (i used pearl). The barley only takes about 1/2 hour to cook i found. I added a capsicum, some corn and soy sauce and left out the beans. Yum yum and definately very tasty. I might add carrot next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I added salt to this, as I thought it was a little bland. I appreciated how easy it was to make such a healthy dish, though. And it was very easy to double the recipe and freeze half for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
As I was cooking it I asked people to taste it as it tasted too bland for me. I ended up adding a small amount of crushed red pepper flakes and cutting the mushrooms in half. In the end no one ate more than 2 spoonfulls. Said it was too "mushroomy". Went in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
We really liked this one. It seemed like it would be plain, but we used a veggie boullion powder from the asian food store that gave it some good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I am looking for high fiber recipes with low cholesterol and saw this one and tried it. It was very tasty. I made a few changes: I used Quaker quick barley which cooks much faster. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and added a teaspoon+ of soy sauce to cooking liquid. I also added Mrs. Dash flavored seasoning. I chopped a portabello mushroom which added a meaty flavor. I also added toasted almonds for flavor and crunch texture. I left out the white beans and used this as a side for grilled salmon. Even my son who is not into healthy foods tasted it and commented how good it was. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Added some quinoa and couscous in place of some of the barley, and some more onions as well. Had it wrapped up in homemade cornmeal crepes... was delicious! Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States