Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I took the advice of some other reviewers and made a couple of changes - I substituted water chestnuts for celery (the man doesn't like celery, but I wanted the crunch) and I used half vegetable broth/half chicken broth. I also added some spinach at the end, thanks to another suggestion. This was the first time I ever tried barley and I will definitely be making this recipe again. I can't wait to try it with other additions, like carrots. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was just ok, but then I did not add the white beans. I think next time I will sauté the veggies and remove them, adding them back in twenty minutes before the barley is done. I would prefer a longer cooking time to get the barley done to my liking. Went along well with garlic butter (awesome recipe from this site) and toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
There was too much water. I would cut it back to 2 or 2.5 cups. I also extended the cooking time to 75minutes. This ended up being a thick soup for us. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I love this recipe. It's easy & nutritious. You won't miss the meat - it's a hearty meal that gets it's meaty flavour from the mushrooms. My fiance's daughter loves this so we make it quite often. I've made it with every type of mushroom and different broths. Our favourite is a beef flavoured broth because it really compliments the dish. I use a little bit more oil because the oil is a healthy one and the flavour is richer with more. Instead of prepared liquid broth, I use water and a powdered soup base (OXO or similar) to taste and add more water as needed. If you want it as a soup add more water if you want it thick and stew like add less and if you use the regular old fashioned barley, the starch from the barley will thicken it the more it boils and you won't get big sloppy barley. If it gets too thick add more water, if it's bland, add more broth powder or some steak type seasoning salt like Hy's. At the end I add lots of fresh spinach and stir it in to wilt. It's great without but we like to get greens into us as often as possible and the flavour goes nicely. Add a green salad and some warm french loaf and this is an economical and filling winter meal for family and guests. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I loved the recipe. I used a white wine and herb broth that added a different flavor. I also used 5 minute barley that reduced the cooking time by 45 minutes. Great recipe that I will definitely try again, and probably add more barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
While I did enjoy the mushrooms, this barley recipe was not one of my favorites. It was nice to try something different but I'm not sure if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was nice for a change but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This turned out more flavorful than I expected. Instead of vegetable stock, I used Better Than Bouillion mushroom base. Mine turned out pretty thick like a stew or chili, probably because I used cooked dry Northern beans and added a little more than the recipe called for. This would probably be good with other veggies added in (carrots, etc). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Easy & healthy recipe. I added spinach and different types of mushrooms per other raters. However, I had to keep adding (a lot of) water as the ingredients seem to suck it up. Also, my barley looked bloated and scary. Good enough for home eating but I'd be too embarrassed to serve to guests. The water and barley issues could be my own fault. My husband liked it though and that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antmardy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Wonderful dish, and very easy to make. I used a mix of fresh shitake, crimini, portabello and oyster mushrooms to amp up the mushroom flavor. This worked really well. I substituted chicken stock for the veggie stock, and added fresh parsley, cracked red pepper flakes, chopped carrot and a splash of white wine, and omitted the celery. I also added salt and ground pepper to taste, and served with a bit of shaved parmesan on top as it very closely resembles mushroom risotto in flavor and texture. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States