Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was awesome. My picky family ate it right up, including my two year old son. Definitely something to try and customize. I added corn, but I'm sure you can throw whatever veggie you've got and it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnypi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hartland, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. I like celery but I didn't care for it in this recipe so next time I'll leave it out. Perhaps spinich would be good. I also think I'll use butter in place of the olive oil to add more depth/richness to the flavor and I think brown rice would work as well in place of the barley. Lots of options. Overall a recipe definitely worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
As a new vegetarian, I am trying all kinds of new dishes. This was GREAT!! I really love barley, so I am happy to have found this. Like other reviewers, I substituted water chestnuts for the celery - perfect - and added broccoli. I sprinkled some grated parmesan into the mix before I served it; it added a nice creaminess to the dish. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
A very good dish I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because I didn't have any vegetable broth. This would defintely do very well as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I thought I would like this better than I did. I followed the recipe pretty much exact and I found it a bit bland. I think I will try it again and read some of the other reviews for variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Terrific! I used the 'ingredients search' to use up what was in my fridge before leaving on vacation and found this recipe. Added some carrots, used canned pinto beans and added a splash of white wine to the broth. Added the celery later to preserve crunch. Overall a very satisfying winter meal in a bowl. Froze two meals for later. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Love this recipe! So easy to make and very economical using dried beans. This will definitely be on my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by malkuh23
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Love it! I never have liked beans before, but recently I decided to start eating them as a healthy alternative to meat. I loved the beans in this dish. The mushrooms, beans and barley make the perfect combo. I actually added about 1/4 cup more barley and only two cups of broth and 1/2 cup of water. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made a few changes -used chicken broth and red kidney beans - and it turned out very good. It was a little soupy to begin with but after sitting off the heat for awhile it thickened up. It tasted mild and healthy. It could easily be spiced up with your favorite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but was quite let down by the result. I followed it pretty much spot on, but added an extra cup of mushrooms. When it finished cooking, I thought it was very bland. To make it edible, at the last minute I added about 5 ounces of feta crumble, some fresh parsley and about a tablespoon of cracked red pepper. If I make this again, I think I'll add some goat cheese crumble and maybe some other fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bothpaninis
Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States