Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This hearty dish is great. I added white wine to the broth, and fresh spinach at the very end of the cooking time. I also added fresh parsley and cracked red pepper for more flavor. I'll make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Yummy!!! (and good for you) The only thing I would do differently next time, would be: add half of the garlic, onion and celery closer to the end of cooking time. Their flavors got lost cooking so long (I also used pearled barley). Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Barley plus mushrooms equals tasty delicious. I sauteed all the ingredients on the stove and then transferred everything to a baking dish and cooked it the rest of the way in the oven so I didn't have to keep watching and stirring. I cooked it for an hour and fifteen minutes at 375 degrees and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This dish was very easy to put together. I didn't have celery so I substituted carrots, which worked well. I added 1/2 cup more barley, as 3 cups broth is too much for just 1/2 cup barley. Next time I'm going to add sweet potatoes to this wonderful winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Love it! I followed many of the other suggestions. I cooked the barley first in chicken broth istead of veggie broth. Then I set it aside and cooked the veggies and substitued water chesnuts for celery. Once the veggies were done and I added them to the barley at the same time as the white beans. Then I let them all warm up together and added some salt and pepper. It was enjoyed by everyone at our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Yum!! I made this for my family and we just loved it, the next day I put the rest on the stove with some water and it turned into a wonderful soup!! I like it better as a soup and will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This is a really great recipe- the ultimate comfort food when it's cold outside. Next time I will sub some of the broth with white wine. I exchanged celery for water chestnuts b/c I don't care for celery and b/c I wanted the extra crunch factor. Be sure to watch the pot, tho. Mine was done in less than 45 min and almost got stuck to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I enjoyed this even more than I thought I would! Was afraid it would be too "mushroom-y" but it's just fine. Delicious. Also tastes wonderful with the smallest amount of shredded fresh Parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Used only 2 cups of broth, 3 would've made it soupy. And added a couple of large dashes of worcestershire sauce. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
With a bit of shredded cheese sprinkled on top, this was a totally toothsome, full meal. I did add a bit of crusty bread. Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States