Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Wonderful taste and easy to make. I added more veggie broth and made a soup out of it. Turned out great and my family loved it. Next time I will use the amount of broth indicated in the recipe and see how we all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
DELICIOUS! I had beech mushrooms fresh from the farmer’s market and was looking for a healthy dish for them. Most of the mushroom recipes on here include meat or are filled with cream soup/cheeses. I added a diced sweet potato, sauteeing it a bit first, and then followed the recipe as written. I did use quick cooking barley and cut the broth to 1 cup to accommodate. And I salted and peppered and added some cayenne for a bit of heat. Don’t overcook the veggy base, though: it can become too mushy if you do. Thanks for a great healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Barley plus mushrooms equals tasty delicious. I sauteed all the ingredients on the stove and then transferred everything to a baking dish and cooked it the rest of the way in the oven so I didn't have to keep watching and stirring. I cooked it for an hour and fifteen minutes at 375 degrees and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very good. I did things a little out of order and it turned out great. First I sauteed onions and garlic, then added the shrooms. After that cooked I took it off the heat and did the rest. At the very last minute I added the veggies with fresh spinach to the barley mixture. That way nothing was overcooked. I chopped up tomatoes and cheese and served it all in whole wheat tortillas. Very tasty and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Loved this recipe. Even my meat loving dinner guests enjoyed this. I am always looking for new whole grain dishes that don't taste like they are just healthy but not delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I find this recipe to be hit-or-miss. Sometimes I make it and it tastes wonderful, and other times it is quite bland. Perhaps that has to do with what kind of mushrooms I use or how fresh they are. I use quick-cooking barley because that's all I could find at the store, and I highly recommend it. It only takes 10 minutes to cook. I think if I did cook it for as long as you would need to cook regular barley, the vegetables would be far too mushy for my taste. I use vegetable boullion cubes for the broth, and I usually make it stronger than the boullion is supposed to be, which gives the dish more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I'm only giving this 4 stars because it you can work with it otherwise it would get a 3. I doubled the barley which for me was a mistake. It was very bland. I would also omit the beans unless you really want them! I also left out the celery because of allergy. This may have changed the taste a bit. You can get creative with this and try the red peppers etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
As a couple of other reviewers suggested, I added a quarter of a Red Bell pepper chopped, a teaspoon of red chilli flakes and one cup of barley. Towards the end I added a swirl of soy sauce and voila it was delicious, even my meat eating boyfriend liked it. High praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I think this dish is great. I LOVE mushrooms, and I sometimes have cravings for barley (who knows why), so this dish is perfect for that. I use 1 cup of pearl barley instead of 1/2 cup. I also add cooked mushrooms and celery near the end--about 10 min before barley is done--so they do not lose their flavor and turn into mush. I like to put in tortilla with white cheese, but this is also good on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I liked it, my fiance absolutely hated it. It is pretty bland, but I like the taste of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States