Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This recipe was super easy and full of flavor. I didn't have celery so replaced with red pepper and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I loved it and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Excellent flavors, used a mixture of exotic mushrooms. Was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Way too bland for our tastes. I won't make this again, not with better recipes available. Easy to make however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
i made this recipe, both with and without celery and without is the way to go. It made the dish more consistant and delicious. If you double recipe, add one can red and one can white kidney beans. It makes the dish more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I tweaked this recipe a little. I added carrots and an onion. Also, I put it all in the crock pot for 5hrs on high and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe has a lot of flavor and it is one of my favorite vegetarian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Love it! I followed many of the other suggestions. I cooked the barley first in chicken broth istead of veggie broth. Then I set it aside and cooked the veggies and substitued water chesnuts for celery. Once the veggies were done and I added them to the barley at the same time as the white beans. Then I let them all warm up together and added some salt and pepper. It was enjoyed by everyone at our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. I will sometimes add more vegetable broth than called for and let it simmer down longer for even more flavor. My husband can't get enough of this one. Great veggie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was nice and hearty. I made it with dried red lentils instead of beans, and it added a nice texture. I also added sea salt and pepper. I'll try it next time with the white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Yum. Added shredded carrots and some chopped spinach, a few more seasonings. Very good and nicely filling lunch. Nuked well at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States