Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Easy & healthy recipe. I added spinach and different types of mushrooms per other raters. However, I had to keep adding (a lot of) water as the ingredients seem to suck it up. Also, my barley looked bloated and scary. Good enough for home eating but I'd be too embarrassed to serve to guests. The water and barley issues could be my own fault. My husband liked it though and that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antmardy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Wonderful dish, and very easy to make. I used a mix of fresh shitake, crimini, portabello and oyster mushrooms to amp up the mushroom flavor. This worked really well. I substituted chicken stock for the veggie stock, and added fresh parsley, cracked red pepper flakes, chopped carrot and a splash of white wine, and omitted the celery. I also added salt and ground pepper to taste, and served with a bit of shaved parmesan on top as it very closely resembles mushroom risotto in flavor and texture. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Good! It is woodsey, mushroomy...but not too much so. After reading all of the reviews, I decided to change some things in order to avoid veggie mushiness and soupy barley: 1) Sauteed onions, garlic, & celery until onions are caramelized; 2) Added 1 cup barley (instead of 1/2), chicken broth (instead of veggie), mushrooms, chickpeas, and some spare spinach that I had on hand. I also tossed in some teriyaki sauce and cayenne pepper; 4) Simmered for 60 minutes before everything was at a texture that I like. I just kept tasting it every so often after 45 minutes until it was at a point that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
It was okay - I don't know which was the problem... not enough barley or too much broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Loved this recipe. Used hulled barley (our favorite), and added a hunan chili pepper to it. Definitely a meal we will have again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow! This is going to be a regular among my favorite recipes. Took others suggestions adding carrots. I substituted white beans with a can of red kidney beans (rinsed). The color that they added maded it a very appealing dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I followed the recipe exactly and found that it has a great unique taste and texture. I think I'll be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
GREAT! I followed others' suggestions to use different mushrooms (I used porcini and crimini). I omitted the celery for personal taste. For the beans I used half red kidney and half butter beans. This meal reminded me of a mushroom risotto so I added some parmasan cheese and WOW the flavor was fantastic. The whole family enjoyed it for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was too salty for me--soupy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My 20 month old LOVED this dish! Will deafinately have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States