Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made it as stated and thought it was good but it needs a little something. I'll try tweaking it a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Good and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I did enjoy this recipe. Followed the recipe the first except my broth was frozen so I probably had more than the recipe called for which was perfect for me and I continue making it that way. I've made it several times and use beef broth and toss in some oregano & a splash of hot sauce. Makes an excellent lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, I am a vegetarian the rest of my family is not. My non-vegatarian husband ate three helpings! He loved it! The only change I made was to substitute zucchini for celery out of personal taste. I will make this again for sure and might take others suggestions and put spinach in it as well. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Five star! This is truly comfort food. I used a whole box of chicken broth because I added extra vegetables. I added a handful of chopped Brussels sprouts, broccoli, a few stalks of asparagus, a whole pkg of mushrooms, and I had to use chic pease because I didn't have any white beans. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
it was pretty good. followed the recipe, but also added salt and parsley. all four of my young kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was ok. The barley took a lot longer to cook than the directions called for. My kids didn't like this meal. It was edible, but not something we loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We had this with about 1 Tbs Hot Madras Curry Powder and 1/2 tsp Nutmeg. We also used a cup of pearled barley, 1/2 cup Chardonnay, and 4 cups (1 box) vegetable broth. Came out creamy and delicious in about 40 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent taste, easy to prepare. I'll be doing a double batch myself after this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Surprisingly good. I'm gonna try substituting the mushrooms for chickpeas next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States