Barley, Shrimp, and Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This salad was excellent. I made it because it sounded very healthy and tasty. I did not use quite as much barley as the recipe states. I used 3/4 c. barley and prepared it as directed on the box. The rest of it I did just as the recipe says, but at the end I thought it needed a little something so I added about 1 teaspoon of Lawry's Season Salt. It seemed to bring out the other flavors even more. I made this for a family picnic and everyone seemed to like it. The lemon gives it a nice tangy flavor, perfect for a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
There's too much carbo's in the receipe for Diabetics like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe is quite tasty. I used "veggie shrimp" that I bought at Whole Foods because I'm a vegetarian. I added a hint of sugar, although it's just as tasty without. This is a light and healthy meal, side, or snack for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I wasn't quite sure if this was supposed to be served hot or cold. I rinsed the barley in cold water before I tossed in the other ingredients. I added some fresh lemon thyme. I liked the taste and texture, but it didn't go over well with the husband and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made only a few small changes, I used half the amount of corn called for and half the amount of green onions and upped the lemon juice in the dressing slightly due to personal tastes. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Excellent! Very fresh tasting. I added lots of fresh parsley at the end and we all LOVED it here. My son and I are big shrimp fans and I'm always on the lookout for tasty recipes so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad. I made a few minor changes - I leftout the raw peppers since they bother me and added edamame and diced tomatoes and some red pepper flakes. I used some frozen roasted corn that I got at Trader Joe's and also added in some roasted garlic I had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
only used 1/3 cup lemon juice and no shrimp and it turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was tasty -- made it for a potluck, where I was looking for something that wasn't Yet Another Pasta Salad. I'm giving it 3 stars, but it could get to 4 with a little tweaking. I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I was a little loose and sloppy with measurements. I felt the thyme was a little overly present, and the onions could have been rather more present. The lemon juice / olive oil dressing is mild but nicely balanced, but in general I felt like I was just wanting a little *more* of something, and the sweetness of the barley was a little pushy. Possibly a little garlic? Or replace the green onions with shallots? Or leeks? I'm also thinking a little bit of a tart crumbly cheese -- like a feta or sour goat cheese, or something in that world -- might be a nice addition. If you haven't cooked with barley before -- I'd only done so once -- be aware that barley is a VERY sweet grain, even sweeter than wheat. So feel free to use strongly flavored savory elements with it to balance out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Sooo good! I loved the chewiness of the barley and the over-all mix of flavors. I made this recipe farely close to as written only I used about twice as much lemon juice, because I love the citrus flavor. I even used fresh thyme, but I would recommend using less thyme than listed. I put in the small thyme leaves and felt like I was biting into a Christmas tree when I would get an entire leaf. Chop it finely! But next time I will use less thyme and try using dried thyme to see how the flavor compares. Over-all I loved the unique combination of textures and flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States