Barley Salad With Almonds And Apricots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I guess I just don't like barley in something else than a soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
A very tasty dish! Though the lemon was a little strong, so maybe doubling the spices would be could, as the other reviews suggested, or just cutting down on the juice a little. My lemon was quite large though, maybe that was it. All in all it was very good! More parsley would definitely be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Good with a few changes. Use a full cup apricots, and slivered blanched almonds. Increase turmeric to 1 teaspoon and the cinnamon to a heaping teaspoon. The heaping teaspoon of cinnamon gives a nice warmth to the salad, last but not least make sure to serve a room temp right after making. Flavors get more mellow after chilling or aging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I was making this for my company's fundraiser, and had refrigerated the main mix, without the yogurt and spice mixture. When I was preparing it the next day, I realized my husband, who usually leaves my "projects" alone in the fridge, had helped himself to a generous serving. This, apparently, is delicious with, or without the yogurt and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was very bland. I added some salt and spices and that did not help. Tasted a bit like oatmeal with fruit. It might be good as a sweet dish adding more honey and no onions but there are other recipes that are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Nice flavor! I took the advice of the other reviewers and doubled the spices - I'm glad I did! It was a nice change of pace from the usual meal, but I don't think it's something I'll make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Really enjoyed this salad as a change of pace. Used dried cranberries instead of apricots and omitted the parsley. Nice combination of flavors. I was a little skeptical about combining sweet and savory i.e. cinnamon and onions, but it's a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I like that this recipe is different than the types of foods I typically make, but I don't think it's delicious. It was good and a nice alternative, but I'm pretty sure I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I've made this now a few times and everyone LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was a big hit at dinner, and it was even better as left-overs once all the flavors melded together. The only thing I did differently was cook the barley in vegetable stock instead of water. The vegetable stock add just a little extra dimension to the barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States