Barley Risotto Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I had less barley on hand than I thought and no other grains in the house. I did find a package of ramen, crushed it up & added that to the barley. Since I used less barley, I used less stock. I also added some avocado at the end for creaminess & color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made the recipe as written. It basically met expectations: tastes like barley with some veggies. It's a good, healthful side dish, which is what I was looking for, but I probably won't make it again. As long as you aren't expecting anything special, you'll be satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Not as "easy" as I had hoped bc of prep time and constant attention, but still simple. You definitely dont need to be precise with measurements, and the broth is excessive,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Risotto always takes time and attention but it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
16 month old and I both really liked it. Hubby hated it and wouldn't eat it. So, I went with 3 stars as the family average. Oh, and I did make two changes: I cooked the veggies in bacon grease instead of oil and used 4 squash instead of a zucchini. And I used the optional butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
i used romano instead of parmesan and it turned out very good. but the cooking time was def a lot longer than an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
oh my lanta...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very yummy, I only used zucchini-approx. 1 cup. I never use pearl barley I only use Hull-less Barley which is a nice whole grain. I let the whole grain barley cook for much longer than pearl barley, so approx. 60 min and the w/out cover for 10 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Such a delicious recipe. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil and vegetable broth for chicken broth, and it turned out extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States