Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Glad to find a yummy way to introduce Barley into our diet. Thank you. I used yellow onion as my red had gone bad. Turned out fine. I will add even more carrot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Made a few alterations myself. Used vegetable vs. chicken and broccoli vs. zucchini. Didn't use salt or vegetable oil and sauteed some mushrooms and shrimp to add for my pregnant girlfriend - perfect snack for gestational diabetes! Doubled the recipe with NO problem! Very tasty - finally a recipe for Barley that isn't bread or soup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really liked this. I added spinach to it and it was great. I think next time I'm going to add beans too. Very versatile, you can make it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was good but I didn't have zucchini so I used onion, garlic, carrots, and broccoli. I also used 4 and a half cups of stock to make the barley and added pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and ground coriander. I had some left over shredded chicken so I also tossed that in. The family loved it and we all gave this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
YUMMMMMY ! I added chicken whe the barley was half way done. Turned out GREAT !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now almost exactly as written. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand. Adding the lemon juice and olive oil at the end makes a huge difference and I love this dish. It has a creamy texture like risotto. Definetly worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Excellent side dish -- I even enjoyed the zuchini, which is a rarity for me! A little extra lemon gives it a great zing, and it was just as good as a leftover the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is a terrific side dish with small enough vegetables even kids will enjoy it. Goes great with chicken and is refreshingly different than rice, potatoes or stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've never enjoyed barley so much! The lemon juice really let this dish sing. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried even that did not detract from the great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really enjoyed this dish! I added fresh mushrooms, fresh brocolli, and red bell pepper. Hubby had 3 servings and said he could eat it all. He's NEVER said that about any side dish. So this is a big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States