Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I was hesitant to try this because Barley can be so bland but I loved it. I followed the recipe although I added another half cup of carrots in lieu of the zucchini and instead of a dash of regular salt I used onion salt. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Excellent side dish -- I even enjoyed the zuchini, which is a rarity for me! A little extra lemon gives it a great zing, and it was just as good as a leftover the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is a terrific side dish with small enough vegetables even kids will enjoy it. Goes great with chicken and is refreshingly different than rice, potatoes or stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This recipe really wasn't that good at all. It turned into a bland slew; I was sorry I wasted the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought this was quite good. I do think next time I will cut back on the broth because even after 50 minutes and he barley being tender I had too much liquid leftover. I went heavier on the veggies, added in some cumin and cayenne for a tiny zip and think some diced tomatoes would be another nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very nice. The flavour was a bit subtle, more to my taste than my husband's, although he did say he would eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
this was pretty good, even my husband, who is not a big fan of vegetarian meals liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good! I didn't have carrots on hand, so I added more onions. Next time I'll add more of a variety of vegetables and spices, but definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I too played with the recipe a bit, but the basic idea is a great one: take a healthy, inexpensive whole grain that on its own isn't the most flavorful thing out there, and add a bunch of great flavor in the form of healthy veggies. I used onion, garlic, mushrooms, carrots, and canned tomatoes for the veggie mix. I also used only about 2.5 cups liquid to make the barley. For spice I used salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, and some smoked paprika for both flavor and a very nice deep red color. I'll definately add this to my repetoire of whole grain entrees. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've never enjoyed barley so much! The lemon juice really let this dish sing. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried even that did not detract from the great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States