Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Glad to find a yummy way to introduce Barley into our diet. Thank you. I used yellow onion as my red had gone bad. Turned out fine. I will add even more carrot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I had to make a couple subs because I didnt have parsley and decided to try dill instead and used celery instead of zucchini. Turned out pretty good. Lemon is definitely the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now almost exactly as written. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand. Adding the lemon juice and olive oil at the end makes a huge difference and I love this dish. It has a creamy texture like risotto. Definetly worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Good idea, as I enjoy barley, but needs much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really liked this. I added spinach to it and it was great. I think next time I'm going to add beans too. Very versatile, you can make it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Did not like, sure its good for you, but low on flavor and not interesting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I had never cooked this whole grain before and was looking for a template. I like that this recipe is so customizable. My zucchini had been left in the fridge a little too long and had gotten soft, so I tossed it, but used the carrots and added cilantro and tossed with cooked ground turkey, no lemon juice either. When the onions and garlic are well carmelized, they add enough flavor to tune up the earthy-grainy-ness of the barley. Pearled barley is so nutritious, low GI and a complete protein. One of the healthiest choices out there. I will def make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deleteaccount

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
While I love cooking with barley, I did not enjoy this recipe. The flavor just did not appeal to me. My boyfriend enjoyed it...just not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Made a few alterations myself. Used vegetable vs. chicken and broccoli vs. zucchini. Didn't use salt or vegetable oil and sauteed some mushrooms and shrimp to add for my pregnant girlfriend - perfect snack for gestational diabetes! Doubled the recipe with NO problem! Very tasty - finally a recipe for Barley that isn't bread or soup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANTIHOPE
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Was good, not spectacular. I think it could use a little more flavor. I am still eating it, but my boyfriend only tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States