Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this last night with a few small changes. I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and tossed in a handful of baby spinach when I added the zucchini. It was so good and reminded me of risotto because of the slight creaminess and texture. I served it in roasted red bell pepper halves. Not only did it taste good but it looked good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
It can handle a lot more vegetables than what the recipe calls for (and a little more lemon). On the whole, I was impressed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I did add extra spices that a previous reviewer recommended and I think it really made a difference. 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth rather than 4 worked well with the quick (10 minute) Barley I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really enjoyed this dish! I added fresh mushrooms, fresh brocolli, and red bell pepper. Hubby had 3 servings and said he could eat it all. He's NEVER said that about any side dish. So this is a big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I liked this, but it felt like there was something missing. The only change I made was using dried minced onion, but that's because I didn't have fresh on hand. I felt like it could use a bit more spice, I'm just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Pretty good, but a little flat tasting. I did use bottled lemon juice so that may be the problem. I think green onions & extra parsley would be good additions would make this excellent. I paired it with "Simple Chard" from the site and the combo is really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I liked this easy to prepare recipe and the touch of lemon in it, but it was a teeny bit bland. I had to add spices and I will include more vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwdiaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was good but I didn't have zucchini so I used onion, garlic, carrots, and broccoli. I also used 4 and a half cups of stock to make the barley and added pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and ground coriander. I had some left over shredded chicken so I also tossed that in. The family loved it and we all gave this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
YUMMMMMY ! I added chicken whe the barley was half way done. Turned out GREAT !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasty. I used green beans instead of zucchini. I also added some cheese at the end for some extra creaminess. I am sure it can be adapted hundreds of ways but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States