Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Love it! I might never make risotto with rice again! the barley gives it a wonderful nutty and chewy texture. I use creminis for the mushrooms. Instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
could use more broth so that the risotto cooks longer and gets larger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
very good...BUT, not five stars because anyone used to traditional risotto will definately need to add plenty of parmasan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I gave this recipes 4 stars because I doctored it a bit, partly based on previous reviews. I sauteed the onions in butter and olive oil and then added the dry barley and sauteed until the barley browned slightly, then added the mushrooms, thyme (about 1.5 tsp) and garlic. I omitted the bay leaf. I used 4 cups of nonfat, low sodium chicken broth, with one cup of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it did come out surprishingly creamy, like risotto. Today while heating some of the leftover, I added a little milk and cheese and it was DELICIOUS. I'd recommend about 1/4 to 1/3 cup each romano, cheddar, and whole milk to the full recipe if you want to make it cheesey. The stronger the cheese the less you need to use to add a little kick. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
great recipe! i was surprised at how the barley replicated the risotto texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This has a really nice flavor! I also cooked in some chopped celery. A great HEALTHY dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I have made it many times and have used regular rice in the place of the barley as well (just to switch it up). Great way to use up mushrooms. Delicious as a side dish or a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made a cross between this and the "Barley Bake" also on this site. It was good. It was at least 4 stars the way I made it, but since I didn't use mushrooms, and I think I undercooked the barley, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great recipe!!! Came out perfect. Thanks for a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
mm mmm! Add some white wine and balsamic vinegar during the cooking process and this dish is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States