Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was easy and tasted great! A nice change from rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Yummy!! I scaled the recipie down to three servings, and I think it may have caused a problem with too little broth to add to the barley mixture and the barley didn't become as tender as it could have been. However, I cannot complain... this was delicious!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Awesome recipe and compatible with Weight Watchers (4 points) especially if you cut the fat. I suggest parching the barley in olive oil and sauteeing the mushrooms in a pan coated with cooking spray. Keep the chicken stock hot to avoid change in temperature of the risotto. Ensures creaminess and more timely cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! I will make it again and again. Such a nice change and great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Excellent, easy and tasty. We will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My husband, who procaims to hate barley, loved this recipe. So much so, that he asked if he could take the leftovers for his lunch the next day. I call that a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I had used shredded carrots instead of the mushrooms as usually mushrooms make a risotto style dish more watery. The carrots, however, made it too dry, so I guess next time I'll use mushrooms. I cut down on the broth because I wanted the barley not too soft. It needs more overall flavor though. I think I'll add more salt and pepper and perhaps a bit of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent dish...probably my favorite barley recipe so far. Great taste and very filling. I will be making this one often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe was just what I was looking for to add barley (an excellent source of fiber) to my diet in something other than a soup. The small changes I made based on the other reviews were: -I used salt-free chicken stock and a vegetable bullion cube and it needed only a smidgen of salt at the end of the cooking time to finish it off. I can imagine that regular salt-added canned broth would make it way too salty. -Used fresh thyme, and a bit more than what was originally called for. -Added a generous dash of Cajun seasoning to kick up the flavor even more. -Thanks to Robin B. for the idea of adding some white wine. Just a splash really rounded out the dish and gave it more of a grown-up taste. Overall I think this will be a new regular in my menu planning, and it might even be the main course with some crusty bread and a small green salad. P.S. Regarding the complaint that this isn't a "real" risotto: quite true, but the end result is much creamier in texture than most barley recipes and it's healthier than the same dish made with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe!! I don't usually like barley but I loved this dish. I did cook it longer : for approximatelly 2 hours to get a consistancy that I like .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States