Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I liked the flavor but the second time, I changed a few things. I melted 3tsp of butter and added the barley stirring until it turned a nut brown color, then added onions and the mushrooms for 5 min and then used beef broth instead. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Awesome recipe and compatible with Weight Watchers (4 points) especially if you cut the fat. I suggest parching the barley in olive oil and sauteeing the mushrooms in a pan coated with cooking spray. Keep the chicken stock hot to avoid change in temperature of the risotto. Ensures creaminess and more timely cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My boyfriend and I really liked this. I used some of the reviewers recomendations and cooked the barly in butter a lottle befor adding the stock, and i kept the stoch warm. I also added extra mushrooms, and used dried tyme, and skipped the bay leaf, as i didn'r have one. Well, I sort-of changed everything, except for the barly/stock part. Anyway, it was really good and I will refer to this recipe often, barly is a super whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This was decent. I was hoping the barley would make it something interesting or special but I was disappointed. I've made risotto multiple times with practically the same ingredients and recipe, just (arborio) rice instead of barley and cooking the mushrooms with the rice for most of the simmering time, and that turns out much better. Rice exudes a better flavor than the barley. So if you're considering taking the time to make a risotto, I'd suggest you do a real one: with rice, not barley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I gave this recipes 4 stars because I doctored it a bit, partly based on previous reviews. I sauteed the onions in butter and olive oil and then added the dry barley and sauteed until the barley browned slightly, then added the mushrooms, thyme (about 1.5 tsp) and garlic. I omitted the bay leaf. I used 4 cups of nonfat, low sodium chicken broth, with one cup of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it did come out surprishingly creamy, like risotto. Today while heating some of the leftover, I added a little milk and cheese and it was DELICIOUS. I'd recommend about 1/4 to 1/3 cup each romano, cheddar, and whole milk to the full recipe if you want to make it cheesey. The stronger the cheese the less you need to use to add a little kick. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really like this recipe. I also add a little white wine to the barley before the chicken broth to give it a little extra flavor--more authentic to real risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Love it! I might never make risotto with rice again! the barley gives it a wonderful nutty and chewy texture. I use creminis for the mushrooms. Instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I really like this recipe. I found it to be very flavorful. The only changes I made were minimal and that was to not put in the bay leaf as I don't care for it. Otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was good. I thought the barley was a little chewy, but I think I may have had too little broth by the time I got it all added in. I made it while I cooked the rest of my meal, so I wasn't just standing around cooking barley. I'll probably fix it again, but I'll play with it a bit to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Yummmm! I added onions, slat and pepper to taste. A little more butter too, but I love anything with butter. :-) Reminded me of a soup my dad used to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States