Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My husband, who procaims to hate barley, loved this recipe. So much so, that he asked if he could take the leftovers for his lunch the next day. I call that a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This dish was delicious. I like mushrooms, but in moderation, which is why I didn't give 5 stars. My husband, however, loves mushroms and raved about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really like this recipe. I also add a little white wine to the barley before the chicken broth to give it a little extra flavor--more authentic to real risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Excellent, easy and tasty. We will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great texture. Needs more flavor, i.e. salt, garlic, herbs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! I will make it again and again. Such a nice change and great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My boyfriend and I really liked this. I used some of the reviewers recomendations and cooked the barly in butter a lottle befor adding the stock, and i kept the stoch warm. I also added extra mushrooms, and used dried tyme, and skipped the bay leaf, as i didn'r have one. Well, I sort-of changed everything, except for the barly/stock part. Anyway, it was really good and I will refer to this recipe often, barly is a super whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I liked the flavor but the second time, I changed a few things. I melted 3tsp of butter and added the barley stirring until it turned a nut brown color, then added onions and the mushrooms for 5 min and then used beef broth instead. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Awesome recipe and compatible with Weight Watchers (4 points) especially if you cut the fat. I suggest parching the barley in olive oil and sauteeing the mushrooms in a pan coated with cooking spray. Keep the chicken stock hot to avoid change in temperature of the risotto. Ensures creaminess and more timely cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I really like this recipe. I found it to be very flavorful. The only changes I made were minimal and that was to not put in the bay leaf as I don't care for it. Otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States