Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe!...but I made some changes to make it a "one-pot clean up." I sauteed the onion, garlic and mushrooms in 1 tbsp. of olive oil. When it looked soft enough, I added the barley, miked it around a bit then added the stock. After the barley cooked and absorbed all the water, I added freshly chopped parsley and basil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a very good and healthy side dish. I used vegetable stock and baby bella mushrooms. My husband tends to be a "meat and potato" guy, but he was very satisfied with this recipe and enjoyed it a lot. I will keep this in my repertoire. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe is excellent and very easy to make. It's also a healthier alternative to rice risotto. Like many others, I sauteed the garlic and mushrooms and added them to the barley just before I began to add the broth. I served it with roasted chicken, and it was a perfect complement. I think it can be done with other veggies as well, maybe asparagas instead of mushrooms? Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very good! Barley is soooo underrated and it is great for Diabetes and High Cholestrol (like my hubby). I added coins of chicken sausage for a one-pot meal. So hearty, and great for winter! If you want to add creaminess you can also add one can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tohaveaplan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Good, family chowed this one down. Made with beef stock instead of chicken as we were having venison. I used a soup base (a good brand, mind you) instead of canned stock and the beef flavor did get a bit strong and kind of fake tasting, probably because of the amount of liquid cooking down. That being said, it was still good, hence the 4 stars. Definitely trying with real chicken stock next time. If you try this recipe, use canned or box stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe!! I don't usually like barley but I loved this dish. I did cook it longer : for approximatelly 2 hours to get a consistancy that I like .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe was just what I was looking for to add barley (an excellent source of fiber) to my diet in something other than a soup. The small changes I made based on the other reviews were: -I used salt-free chicken stock and a vegetable bullion cube and it needed only a smidgen of salt at the end of the cooking time to finish it off. I can imagine that regular salt-added canned broth would make it way too salty. -Used fresh thyme, and a bit more than what was originally called for. -Added a generous dash of Cajun seasoning to kick up the flavor even more. -Thanks to Robin B. for the idea of adding some white wine. Just a splash really rounded out the dish and gave it more of a grown-up taste. Overall I think this will be a new regular in my menu planning, and it might even be the main course with some crusty bread and a small green salad. P.S. Regarding the complaint that this isn't a "real" risotto: quite true, but the end result is much creamier in texture than most barley recipes and it's healthier than the same dish made with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent dish...probably my favorite barley recipe so far. Great taste and very filling. I will be making this one often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
very salty. Wasn't awful but not my favorite. Maybe low sodium broth would have been better. Oh well. thanks for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I had used shredded carrots instead of the mushrooms as usually mushrooms make a risotto style dish more watery. The carrots, however, made it too dry, so I guess next time I'll use mushrooms. I cut down on the broth because I wanted the barley not too soft. It needs more overall flavor though. I think I'll add more salt and pepper and perhaps a bit of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States