Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! It's easy to make and a much healthier alternative to rice risotto! Two thumbs way up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used an extra 2 cups of liquid and kept cooking and stirring and the barley never softened enough. Al dente would be putting it lightly, it was almost crunchy. Is the barley supposed to be cooked before you start? Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was pretty good...not sure if I'd exactly call it a risotto, but never the less, it was a good side dish. I made it exactly as written but cut it down to 3 servings. I did not need as much chicken broth, my barley was completly saturated with about a 1/2 cup left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Amazing! Didn't miss the cheese or cream at all! I gave it 4 stars simply because I like a little crunch so I added asparagus near the end. Everything else about it was amazing! Great recipe if you're cooking for someone who is lactose intolerant, just nix the butter. Will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Used some of the suggestions (See Hannah's suggestion) and it turned out great! I'm really surprised at how healthy it is too! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyG42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I like the chewy texture of barley compared to that rice, so I had high hopes for this recipe. I wasn't disappointed! I melted 3 TBsps. of butter then lightly brown the barley. Added the the onions and let those cook down. Meanwhile, I put the 4 1/2 cups of stock up to boil. Once the barley/onions were ready I added them to the hot broth. Seasoned with 1 tsp. of thyme, 1 bay leave, 2 pinches of salt, a few cracks of pepper from the mill and a pinch or so of nutmeg. I cooked the mushrooms in a little butter until soft, then added the garlic and cooked until fragrant. When the risotto was nearly done I added 1/2 cup of milk. When it was all done I tossed the mushrooms mixture into the risotto. Lovely texture and taste, BUT... It needs some kind of cheese. I know many are saying Parmesan, but I would opt for Romano and use a little more nutmeg next time. Served this with "Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was ok. My barley had a good consistency initially, but when combined with the mushrooms it somehow lost all of its creaminess. I have no idea what I did wrong--I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was alright, but definitely not worth the time put in to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was very nice, I left out the mushrooms and instead added steamed asparagus and 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan to the risotto just prior to serving. I also added 1 cup dry white wine to the liquid measure in place of one cup of the stock. * Note* Make sure you use reduced sodium stock, this way you are better able to control the amount of salt in the dish. I will definitely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was yummy! I scaled it down to make for just 4 people. I stirred in a quarter cup of Parm cheese at the end, and i actually used 3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme instead of dried. I salted/peppered to taste. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Yummmm! I added onions, slat and pepper to taste. A little more butter too, but I love anything with butter. :-) Reminded me of a soup my dad used to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States