Barley Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was easy and tasted great! A nice change from rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Yummy!! I scaled the recipie down to three servings, and I think it may have caused a problem with too little broth to add to the barley mixture and the barley didn't become as tender as it could have been. However, I cannot complain... this was delicious!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
A lot of time and effort for a just OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was good. I thought the barley was a little chewy, but I think I may have had too little broth by the time I got it all added in. I made it while I cooked the rest of my meal, so I wasn't just standing around cooking barley. I'll probably fix it again, but I'll play with it a bit to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This was decent. I was hoping the barley would make it something interesting or special but I was disappointed. I've made risotto multiple times with practically the same ingredients and recipe, just (arborio) rice instead of barley and cooking the mushrooms with the rice for most of the simmering time, and that turns out much better. Rice exudes a better flavor than the barley. So if you're considering taking the time to make a risotto, I'd suggest you do a real one: with rice, not barley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I really like this recipe. I found it to be very flavorful. The only changes I made were minimal and that was to not put in the bay leaf as I don't care for it. Otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Awesome recipe and compatible with Weight Watchers (4 points) especially if you cut the fat. I suggest parching the barley in olive oil and sauteeing the mushrooms in a pan coated with cooking spray. Keep the chicken stock hot to avoid change in temperature of the risotto. Ensures creaminess and more timely cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I liked the flavor but the second time, I changed a few things. I melted 3tsp of butter and added the barley stirring until it turned a nut brown color, then added onions and the mushrooms for 5 min and then used beef broth instead. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My boyfriend and I really liked this. I used some of the reviewers recomendations and cooked the barly in butter a lottle befor adding the stock, and i kept the stoch warm. I also added extra mushrooms, and used dried tyme, and skipped the bay leaf, as i didn'r have one. Well, I sort-of changed everything, except for the barly/stock part. Anyway, it was really good and I will refer to this recipe often, barly is a super whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! I will make it again and again. Such a nice change and great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States