Barley Lime Fiesta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Audrey Banada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Definitely making it again! Easy. Didn't really measure anything. Just added most of the ingredients into big bowl. Only change is honey instead of corn syrup. No need for separate bowls for dressing, did not measure. Didn't add onions kids don't like it too much. No chipotle for my kids. Cooked 2.5 cups of barley In a rice cooker just as I would cook regular rice. Let it sit then added all the other ingredients with a few exceptions. Ate with baked salmon. So good summer food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Banada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
It is very good!!!! I substituted agave syrup for the corn syrup, jalapeno pepper for chipotle and used all lemon juice instead of lime. I will definitely make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
OMG! Fabulous salad! Missing something? No way. Spicey, fresh, and crunchy! Loved it, loved it, loved it. We are your "average cooks" who are not in search of vegetarian, vegan, blah blah, special recipe meals. Just wanted something fresh that included barley. I agree with the other reviewers that it tastes the BEST the next day. I have so many plans to tweak this recipe for more fun and delicious options. It has a beautiful presentation and will be my go-to for family gatherings and to bring to friends. Loved the original recipe and that is why it earned five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I love barley and the ingredient list sounds like a fantastic mix; however this just was not a hit with me. It wasn't bad, just nothing special and the flavors did not seem to mesh. I did get some positive reviews from other diners, but most were in my boat. I had a ton left over and thankfully my father was one of the few that really enjoyed it so he too the rest home with him. I also made the honey substitution for corn syrup, but doubt that would've made it that much better. It is healthy, I'll give it that, just not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was Ok, but missing something, I added a squirt of FF Italian dressing and it was much better. As is only 3, but better if you add the Italian dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe is now one of my favorites. I didn't add any of the oils, salt, or corn syrup, and it's still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe makes a ton, so either take this to a picnic or be prepared to eat this all week. Actually, this does make a nice, hearty, filling lunch. I think the amount of barley could be cut in half, allowing the veggies to take center stage. The seasoning was pretty subtle when diluted with all that barley. I did sub honey for corn syrup as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Definitely let it chill first. It doesn't work if you eat it right away. I liked this, but there are many other salads I'd make before making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Mmmm, delicious! I omitted the chipotle pepper, instead added some thai peppers I grew from last summer and had frozen, instead of corn syrup, I too used honey, and instead of white vinegar, I used rice wine vinegar. I let this sit in the fridge overnight, and it tasted fabulous as a light lunch right now. Oh, I also left out the salt (of course), and onion powder (didn't have any on hand). I'll be making this again, thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was DELICIOUS!! Was trying to find a vegetarian based recipe and came across this one which surprised me because I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand and already chopped. Instead of the corn syrup/lime/vinegar sauce, I used leftover dressing from a non-mayo based cole slaw recipe and added lime juice and onion powder. The flavors just popped and even my husband, who could care less for barley, thought it was good. This recipe's going in the list of my regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States