Barley Lime Fiesta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
It is very good!!!! I substituted agave syrup for the corn syrup, jalapeno pepper for chipotle and used all lemon juice instead of lime. I will definitely make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
OMG! Fabulous salad! Missing something? No way. Spicey, fresh, and crunchy! Loved it, loved it, loved it. We are your "average cooks" who are not in search of vegetarian, vegan, blah blah, special recipe meals. Just wanted something fresh that included barley. I agree with the other reviewers that it tastes the BEST the next day. I have so many plans to tweak this recipe for more fun and delicious options. It has a beautiful presentation and will be my go-to for family gatherings and to bring to friends. Loved the original recipe and that is why it earned five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I love barley and the ingredient list sounds like a fantastic mix; however this just was not a hit with me. It wasn't bad, just nothing special and the flavors did not seem to mesh. I did get some positive reviews from other diners, but most were in my boat. I had a ton left over and thankfully my father was one of the few that really enjoyed it so he too the rest home with him. I also made the honey substitution for corn syrup, but doubt that would've made it that much better. It is healthy, I'll give it that, just not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was Ok, but missing something, I added a squirt of FF Italian dressing and it was much better. As is only 3, but better if you add the Italian dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe is now one of my favorites. I didn't add any of the oils, salt, or corn syrup, and it's still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe makes a ton, so either take this to a picnic or be prepared to eat this all week. Actually, this does make a nice, hearty, filling lunch. I think the amount of barley could be cut in half, allowing the veggies to take center stage. The seasoning was pretty subtle when diluted with all that barley. I did sub honey for corn syrup as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Definitely let it chill first. It doesn't work if you eat it right away. I liked this, but there are many other salads I'd make before making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Mmmm, delicious! I omitted the chipotle pepper, instead added some thai peppers I grew from last summer and had frozen, instead of corn syrup, I too used honey, and instead of white vinegar, I used rice wine vinegar. I let this sit in the fridge overnight, and it tasted fabulous as a light lunch right now. Oh, I also left out the salt (of course), and onion powder (didn't have any on hand). I'll be making this again, thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was DELICIOUS!! Was trying to find a vegetarian based recipe and came across this one which surprised me because I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand and already chopped. Instead of the corn syrup/lime/vinegar sauce, I used leftover dressing from a non-mayo based cole slaw recipe and added lime juice and onion powder. The flavors just popped and even my husband, who could care less for barley, thought it was good. This recipe's going in the list of my regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is an extremely pretty and healthy salad. I've made it twice: once for home and once for a small party. I deleted the peppers, used frozen corn instead of canned, and used honey instead of corn starch. I wasn't surprised that DH was not fond of it; he's not a big bean fan. But the leftovers were amazing. It seems the longer this sits in the fridge the better. The second time I prepared it the day before the party. Although there were only six of us girls, there was nothing left. Too bad for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States