Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup is delicious and so simple. I had not cooked with lentils before and I wanted to try them. I love barley and the thought of having them together intrigued me. A friend gave a bag of lentils to me and I found this recipe. When I read it, it seemed too simple to be good. However I read the reviews and saw most people didn’t change much. I didn’t have any porcini mushrooms but I had a ton of sliced button mushrooms so I sautéed them in a little olive oil and put them in the soup. I added a parsnip and a couple potatoes to make it heartier. To my dismay I did not have sherry on hand so I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar which added a full bodied richness. With a warm loaf of bread and a glass of good wine, this soup was a great comfort food on a cold winter night. Thank you Diana for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this recipe using vegetable stock, which was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend doing that. But, there was one issue: I don't know if beef broth and vegetable broth heat differently, but 2 qts. of veggie broth were not NEARLY enough. I was basically making a stew with only 2 qts. So, I used 3 qts. which made a good, thick, hearty soup. That was as much room as I had in my pot. Next time, I'll use a large pot, and 4 qts. of veggie broth, and I'm sure that will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have to say this was one of the best soups I've made (and I make a lot of soups...)! The thyme compliments the mushrooms perfectly. I didn't have the dried mushrooms so sauted white button mushrooms instead. I did end up adding some homeade noodles and extra stock as I wanted this to be a meal soup, which added nicely to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was very good. My husband ate it and complimented it, even though he doesn't like lentils or mushrooms! I would have like more veggies in there, but I guess you can just add them to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Although I did tweak it a bit to incorporate the ingredients that I hand on hand...I made it in my crockpot, which is huge, so I doubled the recipe and reduced the amount of liquid as I wanted more of a stew-like consistency. I also browned some ground beef to give it a little more flavor. I used a package of button mushrooms and included a can of italian style stewed tomatoes. This is a versitle recipe which is easily adaptable to what you have at home. Very tasty...Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will alter the proportions a little next time I make it. I think I'll want to use lots more carrots and celery and cut the lentils and barley down to 1/2 cup each. It did have a very nice flavor though, and was just the thing for a cold-rainy Spring night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I didn't add sherry. The soup was good, but I felt it lack of something. Probably a few drops of sherry would solve the problem. I live in the country side of Japan where it is a bit hard to find porcini and button mushrooms. I used Japanese mushrooms, such as shiitake and shimeji, though the soup tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a good soup. It was easy to make, and my whole family liked it (including my three year old daughter). I used low sodium vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I also doubled the thyme and added one large parsnip for extra flavor. This tasted great along side a pesto grilled cheese. It also tasted even better the next day (as most soups do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelMiller29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was an easy recipe to cook and modify. I added corn and used low salt vegetable broth because of my diet. It is still very tasty and healthy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wonderful. My entire family loved it. Next time I'll have to double the recipe because it was gone to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States