Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I absolutely Love this soup! It's always the first one I make in the fall. It's very hearty and warm and you can't even tell that there isn't any meat in it! Definitely one for my permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this soup is very tasty and filling. I added some water next day because it got too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup is delicious and so simple. I had not cooked with lentils before and I wanted to try them. I love barley and the thought of having them together intrigued me. A friend gave a bag of lentils to me and I found this recipe. When I read it, it seemed too simple to be good. However I read the reviews and saw most people didn’t change much. I didn’t have any porcini mushrooms but I had a ton of sliced button mushrooms so I sautéed them in a little olive oil and put them in the soup. I added a parsnip and a couple potatoes to make it heartier. To my dismay I did not have sherry on hand so I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar which added a full bodied richness. With a warm loaf of bread and a glass of good wine, this soup was a great comfort food on a cold winter night. Thank you Diana for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I didn't add sherry. The soup was good, but I felt it lack of something. Probably a few drops of sherry would solve the problem. I live in the country side of Japan where it is a bit hard to find porcini and button mushrooms. I used Japanese mushrooms, such as shiitake and shimeji, though the soup tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have to say this was one of the best soups I've made (and I make a lot of soups...)! The thyme compliments the mushrooms perfectly. I didn't have the dried mushrooms so sauted white button mushrooms instead. I did end up adding some homeade noodles and extra stock as I wanted this to be a meal soup, which added nicely to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Although I did tweak it a bit to incorporate the ingredients that I hand on hand...I made it in my crockpot, which is huge, so I doubled the recipe and reduced the amount of liquid as I wanted more of a stew-like consistency. I also browned some ground beef to give it a little more flavor. I used a package of button mushrooms and included a can of italian style stewed tomatoes. This is a versitle recipe which is easily adaptable to what you have at home. Very tasty...Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this recipe on Nov 1 and my husband and I loved it!! I did not use button mushrooms as suggested. I replaced them with Baby Bella (baby portabella) mushrooms. I think the porcini mushrooms are key! If you can find them in your store definitely use them. Usually you can find them dried in packages. I'm out to go to the store so that I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was an easy recipe to cook and modify. I added corn and used low salt vegetable broth because of my diet. It is still very tasty and healthy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, just a traditional soup I guess. Good flavor. I used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken for vegetarian soup, and I skipped the olive oil, but the taste was the same I assume. A good generic recipe. Seemed like a lot of mushrooms in the recipe though... I didn't use as much. And I couldn't find the specified mushroom in the recipe - I found the button ones but not the other kind. Anyway, yeah, I'd recommend it as a good cold-weather recipe or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will alter the proportions a little next time I make it. I think I'll want to use lots more carrots and celery and cut the lentils and barley down to 1/2 cup each. It did have a very nice flavor though, and was just the thing for a cold-rainy Spring night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States