Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is delicious! For those of you wary about dishes without meat not being good, try this! It's hearty and filling. If you really can't live without the meat you could add stew meat. I didn't have porcini mushrooms or sherry, but I don't think I missed out on much. I didn't have beef broth but I did have beef bouillon. I also added two bay leaves as I rather like bay leaves. I want to preserve this soup so I always have some handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I used about a 1/2lb of chopped bacon and 1T of bacon dripping in place of olive oil. I didn't have porcini mushrooms or any sherry. I eye balled the amount of spices, and I err on the + side. Also added about 1 1/12T of minced garlic at the same time as the carrots. Easy to make, taste great, very filling. Gotta love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a good soup. It was easy to make, and my whole family liked it (including my three year old daughter). I used low sodium vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I also doubled the thyme and added one large parsnip for extra flavor. This tasted great along side a pesto grilled cheese. It also tasted even better the next day (as most soups do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelMiller29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good. Made it basically to the t except added a bit of frozen spinach and used less mushrooms because I didn't have that much. I also omitted the sherry because I didn't have it, and added the ever-crucial garlic. I also threw in a diced red skin potato to beef up the soup a bit. Quite tasty. The boyfriend went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
this was a very good soup. i picked it thinking i had lentils, but i did not. very flavorful. i also used fresh thyme, and all button mushrooms. i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
good soup-I added some chopped chuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is wonderful. I had gotten lentils and barley at the market because they are so healthy, and I happen to have some frozen shitake mushrooms I added. I only had the powdered beef stock, and it was still wonderful. My husband is very picky and he loved it, too. We usually don't share the same tastes because I like some hotter spices than he does, but finally a soup we agree on! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Good but it's missing something. I'd still make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This is the perfect soup to have on a cold fall day. I made no changes to the recipe and will definitely make this soup again. Thanks for the great recipe, Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is really quite tasty! I made it in my crockpot; keep in mind that lentils and barley cook rather quickly. I used red lentils, which are very tiny, and they cooked VERY quickly, which made for a nice thick soup (as they dissolved) but if you would like a lentilly textured soup, try the recommended lentils. I doubled the thyme, and sherry, and bay leaf. Used a variety of dried, frozen and fresh mushrooms. The seasonings are what make this so great, so follow along with the recomendations. I also used a veggie bouillion, with a few drops of liquid smoke (use sparingly) to make up for the lack of beef bouillion. Slow cookers beware...this cooks up very fast (although the dried mushrooms take a bit longer), so this would not be a "prep in the a.m., eat in the p.m" kinda dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States