Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Pretty good soup. I added quite a bit more thyme, pepper, and an extra bay leaf. Love barley, lentils and mushrooms. This is a great combination. Definately did not miss the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very tasty, super easy, hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The family loved it! Even my pickiest eater. That was a surprise. I changed it up by adding some browned stew meat and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I put the whole thing together on the stove and then threw it in the crock pot to finish for a couple hours. I would totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very, very tasty and hearty recipe. I also added some halved brussels sprouts with about 10 minutes left of cooking which were a good addition. This soup was very thick, next time I'll probably use more like 2 1/2 quarts of broth instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this soup with my home made beef stock and the flavor was amazing! I love the combo of barley and mushrooms with the lentils. That said, next time I'm going to use 1/2 the barley and more lentils. That barley soaked up all of the liquid! Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very good soup! I used veggie broth to veganize this, and a combo of portabellas and button mushroom because that's what I had on hand, and I also used green lentils and purple barley. It was the perfect soup for a chilly autumn evening, and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Not bad - but I agree that the recipe needs much more broth to be a soup rather than a stew. And it was a LOT of stew - I could probably feed a few families with what I ended up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good soup. I threw in a few left-over smoked pork ribs for a smokey flavor and protein. Also added some brown rice for added texture and fiber. Increased the amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh Jorgen

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States