Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Pretty good soup. I added quite a bit more thyme, pepper, and an extra bay leaf. Love barley, lentils and mushrooms. This is a great combination. Definately did not miss the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very tasty, super easy, hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The family loved it! Even my pickiest eater. That was a surprise. I changed it up by adding some browned stew meat and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I put the whole thing together on the stove and then threw it in the crock pot to finish for a couple hours. I would totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very, very tasty and hearty recipe. I also added some halved brussels sprouts with about 10 minutes left of cooking which were a good addition. This soup was very thick, next time I'll probably use more like 2 1/2 quarts of broth instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this soup with my home made beef stock and the flavor was amazing! I love the combo of barley and mushrooms with the lentils. That said, next time I'm going to use 1/2 the barley and more lentils. That barley soaked up all of the liquid! Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very good soup! I used veggie broth to veganize this, and a combo of portabellas and button mushroom because that's what I had on hand, and I also used green lentils and purple barley. It was the perfect soup for a chilly autumn evening, and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Not bad - but I agree that the recipe needs much more broth to be a soup rather than a stew. And it was a LOT of stew - I could probably feed a few families with what I ended up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good soup. I threw in a few left-over smoked pork ribs for a smokey flavor and protein. Also added some brown rice for added texture and fiber. Increased the amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh Jorgen

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States