Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
SUPER tasty and healthy. I didn't use summer savory and it was still AWESOME!!!! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Just made this for my wife and I, it is a wonderful, hearty soup. My wife was surprised that I would eat it because I really like to have meat with every meal. I used shitake mushrooms instead of porcinni, other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I loved the taste of this. I did have to alter it, becuase I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand. I didn't put in mushrooms, or sherry, and I substituted rice for the barley. It was still delicious. All of my children liked it except for my picky child, (he wouldn't try it because it had celery and onions in it.) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wonderful. My entire family loved it. Next time I'll have to double the recipe because it was gone to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Galatocky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Although I did tweak it a bit to incorporate the ingredients that I hand on hand...I made it in my crockpot, which is huge, so I doubled the recipe and reduced the amount of liquid as I wanted more of a stew-like consistency. I also browned some ground beef to give it a little more flavor. I used a package of button mushrooms and included a can of italian style stewed tomatoes. This is a versitle recipe which is easily adaptable to what you have at home. Very tasty...Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this recipe on Nov 1 and my husband and I loved it!! I did not use button mushrooms as suggested. I replaced them with Baby Bella (baby portabella) mushrooms. I think the porcini mushrooms are key! If you can find them in your store definitely use them. Usually you can find them dried in packages. I'm out to go to the store so that I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have to say this was one of the best soups I've made (and I make a lot of soups...)! The thyme compliments the mushrooms perfectly. I didn't have the dried mushrooms so sauted white button mushrooms instead. I did end up adding some homeade noodles and extra stock as I wanted this to be a meal soup, which added nicely to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this soup is very tasty and filling. I added some water next day because it got too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup is delicious and so simple. I had not cooked with lentils before and I wanted to try them. I love barley and the thought of having them together intrigued me. A friend gave a bag of lentils to me and I found this recipe. When I read it, it seemed too simple to be good. However I read the reviews and saw most people didn’t change much. I didn’t have any porcini mushrooms but I had a ton of sliced button mushrooms so I sautéed them in a little olive oil and put them in the soup. I added a parsnip and a couple potatoes to make it heartier. To my dismay I did not have sherry on hand so I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar which added a full bodied richness. With a warm loaf of bread and a glass of good wine, this soup was a great comfort food on a cold winter night. Thank you Diana for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I absolutely Love this soup! It's always the first one I make in the fall. It's very hearty and warm and you can't even tell that there isn't any meat in it! Definitely one for my permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States