Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup is delicious and so simple. I had not cooked with lentils before and I wanted to try them. I love barley and the thought of having them together intrigued me. A friend gave a bag of lentils to me and I found this recipe. When I read it, it seemed too simple to be good. However I read the reviews and saw most people didn’t change much. I didn’t have any porcini mushrooms but I had a ton of sliced button mushrooms so I sautéed them in a little olive oil and put them in the soup. I added a parsnip and a couple potatoes to make it heartier. To my dismay I did not have sherry on hand so I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar which added a full bodied richness. With a warm loaf of bread and a glass of good wine, this soup was a great comfort food on a cold winter night. Thank you Diana for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this recipe using vegetable stock, which was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend doing that. But, there was one issue: I don't know if beef broth and vegetable broth heat differently, but 2 qts. of veggie broth were not NEARLY enough. I was basically making a stew with only 2 qts. So, I used 3 qts. which made a good, thick, hearty soup. That was as much room as I had in my pot. Next time, I'll use a large pot, and 4 qts. of veggie broth, and I'm sure that will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have to say this was one of the best soups I've made (and I make a lot of soups...)! The thyme compliments the mushrooms perfectly. I didn't have the dried mushrooms so sauted white button mushrooms instead. I did end up adding some homeade noodles and extra stock as I wanted this to be a meal soup, which added nicely to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was very good. My husband ate it and complimented it, even though he doesn't like lentils or mushrooms! I would have like more veggies in there, but I guess you can just add them to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Although I did tweak it a bit to incorporate the ingredients that I hand on hand...I made it in my crockpot, which is huge, so I doubled the recipe and reduced the amount of liquid as I wanted more of a stew-like consistency. I also browned some ground beef to give it a little more flavor. I used a package of button mushrooms and included a can of italian style stewed tomatoes. This is a versitle recipe which is easily adaptable to what you have at home. Very tasty...Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will alter the proportions a little next time I make it. I think I'll want to use lots more carrots and celery and cut the lentils and barley down to 1/2 cup each. It did have a very nice flavor though, and was just the thing for a cold-rainy Spring night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I didn't add sherry. The soup was good, but I felt it lack of something. Probably a few drops of sherry would solve the problem. I live in the country side of Japan where it is a bit hard to find porcini and button mushrooms. I used Japanese mushrooms, such as shiitake and shimeji, though the soup tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a good soup. It was easy to make, and my whole family liked it (including my three year old daughter). I used low sodium vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I also doubled the thyme and added one large parsnip for extra flavor. This tasted great along side a pesto grilled cheese. It also tasted even better the next day (as most soups do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelMiller29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was an easy recipe to cook and modify. I added corn and used low salt vegetable broth because of my diet. It is still very tasty and healthy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wonderful. My entire family loved it. Next time I'll have to double the recipe because it was gone to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States