Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will alter the proportions a little next time I make it. I think I'll want to use lots more carrots and celery and cut the lentils and barley down to 1/2 cup each. It did have a very nice flavor though, and was just the thing for a cold-rainy Spring night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wonderful. My entire family loved it. Next time I'll have to double the recipe because it was gone to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I loved the taste of this. I did have to alter it, becuase I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand. I didn't put in mushrooms, or sherry, and I substituted rice for the barley. It was still delicious. All of my children liked it except for my picky child, (he wouldn't try it because it had celery and onions in it.) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This soup left an add tast, maybe that of wine and cheese sausage. I found the appearance unappealing and no need at all for the barley as lentils are incredibly fibrous as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmalltownJar
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Good base recipe. Left out the celery and added garlic, green peppers, and potatoes. Also, didn't have any beef broth, so I used veggie and added a few beef boullion cubes. Great versatile dish that can be ad-libbed depending on what's in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this recipe using vegetable stock, which was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend doing that. But, there was one issue: I don't know if beef broth and vegetable broth heat differently, but 2 qts. of veggie broth were not NEARLY enough. I was basically making a stew with only 2 qts. So, I used 3 qts. which made a good, thick, hearty soup. That was as much room as I had in my pot. Next time, I'll use a large pot, and 4 qts. of veggie broth, and I'm sure that will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Just made this for my wife and I, it is a wonderful, hearty soup. My wife was surprised that I would eat it because I really like to have meat with every meal. I used shitake mushrooms instead of porcinni, other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
SUPER tasty and healthy. I didn't use summer savory and it was still AWESOME!!!! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was very good. My husband ate it and complimented it, even though he doesn't like lentils or mushrooms! I would have like more veggies in there, but I guess you can just add them to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States