Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was pretty good, bit more stewy than soup, it was a bit thick, but very flavorful and good. Needs an extra couple cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Nice basic hearty soup. I had to add more broth than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I like this recipe but it definitely is slightly bland. I am not really a cook so I'm not sure what to add to liven it up. Instead of barley I used white rice to avoid the gluten. It has a great consistency I think it just needs some sort of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this with chicken broth instead of beef, and it was delicious. I used only half the oil , added 2 cloves of chopped garlic and 2 stalks of celery. Very easy to make.I will try it with beef broth next time. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Yum!!! Used homemade chicken broth instead of beef and a barley/wild rice blend instead of just barley because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a very good lentil soup, and healthy, too! It really doesn't matter what kind of broth you use (chicken, beef, vegetable), it turns out well with any of them. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I did not have porcini mushrooms but I didn't miss them! It was delicious -- even to my pickiest eaters. I added leftover diced london broil to mine as well. Loved the heartiness of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Since my husband is a meat eater, I added some leftover steak we had grilled. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginaflute

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This soup was just delicious! Simple, hearty, and flavorful. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and reduced the barley and lentils to 1/2 cup each, which I thought gave it the perfect consistency. I was out of porcinis, so just substituted mushroom broth. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It is a DELICIOUS soup, I agree. I did accidentally put in 2 tablespoons of sherry. It was so thick, I did add another 2 cups of broth. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States