Barley Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I cut the chicken into chunks and mixed into barley mixture. Added a bit of white wine. I ended up cooking about 20 minutes longer with the cover off to help evaporate some of the liquid. Very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this twice. Once with the chicken as a meal but I found the chicken to be dry. However, I made it as a side dish and we liked it so much better. I cooked the bacon but omitted it from the recipe. I used the bacon grease to sauté vegetables. I used carrots, zucchini, onion and garlic. I chopped the zucchini and carrots into very small pieces. I added all of the spices and cooked it in a casserole dish. We really enjoyed it as a side dish, but not cooked with the chicken (I did the chicken separate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
The recipe wasn't bad. It just wasn't anything special. We love barley in this family, and we decided it was better to make a seperate barley side dish, and something with a little more flavor as a chicken dish. I will keep it handy as a back up, because it is a nice change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I used three slices of Nueskes bacon, which is a thick slice, smokey flavored bacon. Also changed the vegetables to what I had on hand: one small shallot, one clove garlic, red pepper, green and yellow zucchini. I had cooked chicken so just added that to the pot. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is yummy! I didn't add the bacon or mushrooms because I didn't have any. I also used basil and oregano the second time instead of the recommended spices, just because our family likes the basil/oregano taste better. This is a staple meal in our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very tasty weekday meal. Just a couple of changes. I also sauteed the veggies first and added celery instead of the green pepper. Also used 3 tsps of poultry seasoning as I had no marjoram on hand and it turned out to be quite delicious. The sage and smoky bacon flavour go very well together. I also used 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs along with 2 boneless skinless breasts to please the white meat eaters in the house! I would probably decrease the liquid to 2 c. of stock rather than 2 1/2 as I found it quite runny even after 1 hr & 20 minutes in the oven. All in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is very yummy and filling with a few changes made. First, I used turkey sausage instead of bacon. I added way more veggies and didn't rest them on top as suggested- I just dumped them all together. Also, instead of dark meat, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. All in all, a great recipe to play with- it's an excellent way to use up all the odd bits of veggies in your fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Loved this recipe!! I was looking for a chicken casserole and it seemed every recipe was just a variation of something else. This one stood out as different. The first time I made it I took my time to get everything as the recipe called for (I didn't trim the fat from the bacon though). Now I just breeze through it. It's shocking how much this recipe makes, I was a little skeptical when I had all my ingredients prepped and was about to start cooking, but was pleased when I was cleaning up and saw I had enough for lunch the next day. Thanks for the great recipe! It's an instant classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed talltexan's advice and mixed all the ingredients in a greased baking dish, topped it with raw chicken, and sprinkled the chicken with herbes de provence and cracked pepper. Instead of measuring out each spice I just used around 1 Tb herbes de provence in the dish itself and subbed a whole bay leaf for the crushed. The end result would have been perfect but mine was so runny that I had to use a slotted spoon to serve. It was almost like a stew. I will definitely make this again with less broth or try baking it uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
i added cream of asparagus, cream of mushroom and it was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States