Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is an absolute favorite side dish that I often serve as the entree. I use chicken broth instead of vegetable and walnuts instead of pine. I live in an area that doesn't always have the luxuries. When I serve it as a main dish, I double the amount of mushrooms that really give it a meaty flavor without the meat. I've fooled lots of friends. Leftovers are good cold, for summer outings I've added fresh diced tomatos and green onions to the cold mixture, keeping it in a cooler until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Even my non-veggie hubby loved it! Cut butter in half with no ill effect. Skipped the green onions (felt it already had enough "onionage"). Baked at 400 for an hour since i"m at 5500 ft altitude. The pine nuts got all toasty, and it was quite good. I am a barley fan. I will try using a rice cooker next time as it frees up the oven for other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This was a very simple, hearty, and delicious recipe. I sauted the vegetables in olive oil rather than butter, and I added chickpeas for some more protein/fiber. I did have to keep this in the oven longer than 75 minutes, so next time I will increase the oven temp. This was my first time cooking with barley, and I'm happy to report that it won't be my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I used Minor's beef broth and pecans and almonds. I also cooked it in my rice cooker with great results. The leftovers were mixed with brown rice, chorizo, red peppers, tomatoes, cilantro, black beans, etc for a hispanic twist providing a high fiber, complex carb meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Scrumptious! Very easy to prepare. I used chopped almonds in place of pine nuts. I will definitely be using this recipe again in place of potatoes and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was very good. I cut the butter and added carrots and corn to add some color. I plan to add more veggies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I have used both pine nuts and sunflower seeds in this recipe. You can also eliminate the salt without comprimising flavour. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Great! My family and I aren't vegetarians, but we all enjoyed this recipe -- even our 10 year old loved it. Would make again for a unique holiday side dish. One note: watch carefully when browning as the barley tends to brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Thanks for the delicious recipe. I wasn't sure what to expect having never cooked barley before. I love this site for the reviews of the recipes. Because I read the reviews first I made this recipe adding 1 shredded carrot, 2 cloves of chopped garlic and 1 tsp of thyme. It is so delicious that I know I will definitely be making this again and sharing the recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is so much better than I expected! I love this. I added parsley and green onion as a garnish. Great recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States