Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I use beef broth, chili powder to taste, add leftover roast beef, cubed green peppers, carrots, mushrooms, almonds and, during the last ten minutes; cherry tomatoes. Sometimes melt cheese on top and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Overall, I really enjoyed this recipe but I did make a number of changes. I had a little more than 1 cup of barley (maybe 1/4 cup?) so I threw it all in. I tripled the mushrooms to make it a meatier dish, and I used 1-32oz carton of chicken broth to accomodate for the extra barley. Apparently it was a bit too much extra! The added mushrooms probably didn't help the liquid situation either. The flavor was great albeit a bit simple. I love the pine nuts - a great contrast to the chewiness of the barley. I sprinkled the dish with a little more green onion tops when serving. And I omitted the parsley all together because frankly, I don't like parsley! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I saw this recipe today and thought I'd give it a try once I got home for something new! I changed the recipe alittle bit since I didn't have any pine nuts or mushrooms. Instead I used one zuchinni and one orange bell pepper. As well I used the chicken broth - 1 cup and 1 cup of tomato juice. This turned out amazing and so tasty!! We ate the whole cassarole dish! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLarkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was worried about the texture of this dish being too uniform, I was so happy to be wrong! The pine nuts got a bit toasted and it tasted amazing! I added more mushrooms and had to bake it for longer to soak up all the liquid. I would bake it hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was amazing! My husband was very skeptical, but after trying it he just loved it. He said he wouldn't mind eating it multiple times a week! To me the mushrooms really made the dish. I used baby bellas and they gave the dish a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, great as a side dish or eaten alone. The flavor is great and the texture is kept interesting with the pine nuts. The only modification I made was using chicken broth rather than veggie. I also had to leave it in the oven for an hour and 45 minutes before the liquid was absorbed. Next time, I'll either raise the heat a little, or just plan for the extra time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG this was delicious!!! I like to mix it up add random veggies I have in my fridge (or are craving) and every time I make this it is FABULOUS. Thanks so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Simple and delicious. My version included ground beef and beef broth for an extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good and very easy to make. I stuck closely to the recipe, though I added a few sunflower seeds in addition to the pine nuts, per another reviewer's suggestion. I also added a little bit of dried garlic, and more mushrooms than called for. I ate this as an entree just because I was trying it out, but I think it would really be a perfect side dish for the holidays, or for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
So good! I used olive oil instead of butter but the first time it was far to greasy. Second try I cut the fat by just more than half and it was much better. Would be even better with roasted cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States