Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Used chicken broth, 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter, slivered almonds instead of pine nuts, and added rosemary. Omitted green onions. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good! Added broccoli and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this repeatedly, and for company, and it's always great. I've never had green onions. I have subbed dried parsley and dried onion. I didn't want to part with my precious pine nuts, so I used chopped almonds on all occasions with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Delicious and easy! This was more a mushroom-barley bake for me, because I used 1.5c mushrooms (I love them). I browned the onions before adding the barley, used olive oil, and didn't add the pine nuts until after baking, because I prefer them crunchy. This was just as good without the nuts (I forgot to add them at first!). I might sub thyme for parsley and add garlic next time. A perfect dish for a chilly fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I had a white rice recipe which was very similar, using green onions and pine nuts. This is every bit as tasty and way more nutritious so I'll be using it from now on as a side dish instead of rice. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. I've never used barley in anything other than soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've prepared this dish twice now. I recommend covering the barley bake for the first 45 minutes, stirring, then cooking for another 45 minutes uncovered. The second time I made it, I threw in about a cup of shredded carrots in the last 15 minutes and it made the dish pop with color! The nutty flavor of the barley and the pine nuts is so lovely. Ingenious recipe! I love it, and I plan to use it at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is my new favorite dish! Absoloutely loved it and will definitely be making this on a weekly basis. It freezes well and is a great vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe. Couldn't find pine nuts at the grocery store and didn't have time to chop the mushrooms but was still good without those ingredients. Great comfort food recipe for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I like the fact that this recipe woke me up to the idea of using barley as a delicious side dish. I thought that cooking it on the stove top would have provided just as much flavor and would have used much less energy than the long time it took to bake it. Also, I will start toasting the pine nuts before I put the barley in the pan to toast. Putting them in at the same time as the barley didn't give them enough time to get nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States