Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Really good! We haven't really ever had barley, so we weren't sure we'd like it, but apparently we do. I left out the mushrooms since we didn't have any, and used vegetable bullion with water (4 cups of it). As someone else mentioned, the barley browns quickly in the pan, so keep an eye on it. I have an oven safe skillet I use for things like shephard's pie, and I used it for this so I didn't have to transfer to another dish and dirty something else. Worked perfectly. At 1 hour and 15, the liquid wasn't quite all absorbed, so I turned the oven off and put the dish back in for another 1/2 hour, which resulted in the rest of the liquid being absorbed. I think this is great as is and doesn't really need any modifications, although you could certainly add some veggies or meat and get a main dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Bad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very tasty. I doubled the mushrooms, omitted the parsley (didn't have any) but added a large handful of fresh spinach. The pine nuts added a great textural change & nice flavor. Like it a lot and will make it again, might add even more spinach. Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was really good, but before I made this I realized that it might be too bland for my taste. I added two cloves of minced garlic and 2 teaspoons of toasted cumin. This definitely added a bit more flavour. Also, I sprinkled my portion with Frank's red hot sauce because it added some much needed heat. Great recipe that you can modify to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a really good side dish but I found it needed more. I added broccoli and corn then sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on it just before serving. The pine nuts did nothing flavor wise and added a texture that was unpleasant. I used chicken stock and doubled the green onion. The next day I added the leftovers to a bean and vegetable soup I was cooking. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Sooo good!!!! I have never cooked barley before, and it was so easy and deliscious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I was on allrecipes, looking for a way to add barley into my diet and this one looked promising. It's really tasty and, when i reheat it for lunch the next day, I throw in a steamer (those bags of mixed veggies you can buy), and it's really colorful and even healthier than it started out! I do use chicken broth instead of veggie broth, but that's because it's what i keep on hand. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIEMAY84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I ended up using mushroom broth which added to the whole dish a lot, I think. It took a long while to soak up the liquid and I didn't get it all entirely. I will probably add a little less next time. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Not for me. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States